First time building a PC - all advice very welcome


Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Spec so far:

CPU: Intel Quad Core Q6600 2.4GHz S775: http://www.dabs.com/productview.asp...de=1&NavigationKey=11147,4294958803,404930000

Motherboard: XFX S775 nForce 680i LT SLI DDR2 ATX: http://www.dabs.com/productview.asp...ode=1&NavigationKey=11143,405070000,410630000

RAM: Corsair Memory 4GBKIT (2X2GB) 800MHZ: http://www.dabs.com/productview.asp...ationKey=11150,4294955840,4294953914,12,50113

PSU: 750W Silverstone ST75F modular, SLi Quad +12V rail: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=499627

CD Drive: ASUS 2014L1T 20xDVD±R, 8x DVD±DL, DVD+RW x8/-RW x6, x14 DVD-RAM, SATA: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=713202

HD: Western Digital Caviar 250GB S300 16MB 7200RPM: http://www.dabs.com/productview.asp...NavigationKey=11154,50473,42240000,4294960493

CPU cooling: Zalman CNPS9500-LED Aero Flower Cooler: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=256319

Case: Antec 900 - Nine Hundred Ultimate Gamer Case with 200m Top Fan w/o PSU: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=501972#

GPU: 512MB XFX 8800GTS, Alpha Dog, PCI-E 2.0 (x16), Mem 1940MHz, GDDR3, GPU 650MHz, 2x Dual Link DVI/HDTV: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=719623

Monitor: 22" Samsung SM-2232BW Black Widescreen LCD, 1680x1050, 3000:1, 300 cd/m2, 2ms: http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=679564

OS: Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium 64Bit 1Pk OEM (DVD): http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=527300

Total: £1112

Budget £900-1000

This is my very first time building a computer, so I need all the advice I can get. Only previous experience with computer components being upgrading RAM/video card.

Ideally I need to drop the price to around 1000 so any input on what to downgrade is relevant to me.

Also incase you were wondering, yes, this is meant to be a gaming PC.

Thanks for your time!
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
10,937
Reaction score
1,182
Have a look at this recent thread ,

https://www.pcreview.co.uk/forums/thread-3387900-2.php

Its always worth shopping around . For instance E-Buyer has the same case at the same pprice but with free shipping . Overclockers might be worth a look aswell as Airia .

Good look and don't forget the anti-static strap it would be a shame to fry those expensive parts .

happywave.gif
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Ok thanks. Do you think it's worth buying an 'anti static mat' as well? I saw them in a local electronics shop for £15, wrist strap £7.

Also I really need advice on which monitor to get, the one currently in question is over £200, which is really a big hit to my overall price limit, and I'm not sure of its quality. Any good quality monitors anyone here can recommend in the region of £100-200?
 
Last edited:

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
20,252
Reaction score
1,755
I think the risk of static damage is somewhat exagerated. I've been replacing IC's/building computers/working with Electronics for 23 years now and have never damaged even the most sensitive components that way.

If you just touch a known earth such as a radiator pipe before you start work and then every 30 minutes or so, that should suffice. Your body will rarely carry a static charge unless you're wearing shoes made from man made materials or walking on a carpet with a high nylon content, for instance.

If you feel a crack, a very small shock-like effect, when you ground yourself, you have a static charge in your body. If you don't get that shock, you're not.

Around £220.00 is the going price for a decent 22" widescreen monitor. My advice would be not to economise, go for that monitor, you really won't regret it, it's a very good monitor indeed (see my signature ;) ).

If you want to save money, go for the next Samsung model down in that series, the 20", it's about £175.00.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
10,937
Reaction score
1,182
Flops is spot on about the monitor .
You can get a strap for about £3.50 along with your other bits . I get static jolts of me car door nearly all year round so I'm a bit paranoid about static .

:D
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
I'm only 16, but I get static shocks of my dad's car door all the time! Probably best to invest in a strap the way I conduct static. Lol
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
23
Reaction score
0
I'm 14, last time I got a static shock was about a year ago..

Are you guys all static-mutant-monsters or something, from the planet Statorg?
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Weird thing is I don't even wear static building clothes, like nylon and polyester.

Actually I just realised what it is. My dad's car seats are probably made out of nylon, which would explain why I only get the shock when I get out of the car and try to shut the door. I swear sometimes I can see a blue spark jump accross. :D :eek:
 

Electronics & Photo Fan

Dedicated Cruncher
Joined
Feb 19, 2005
Messages
319
Reaction score
4
Some people reckon that the air resistance the car experiences when travelling causes the car's body to become positively charged, and that could be another reason you could be getting shocks. That's what they taught me in physics at school.

Did you ever see the short nylon straps people would tie to the underside of their cars and let them drag along the ground underneath as the car went along? Used to see lots of them back in the 90s, havent seen one for at least 3 or 4 years now though...
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
Any comments on the Antec 900 would be nice. As this will be my first time building a computer, I need a case that's fairly easy to build in.
 

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
10,937
Reaction score
1,182
Nearly all carpets and furnishings have some nylon or some such modern fiber in them so static can strike anywhere .
Does anyone have any science as to how powerful a static jolt can be ? Just out of interest , I'm not trying to be a scaremonger or anything . Honest . :p
laughingsmiley.gif
 

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
20,252
Reaction score
1,755
ferrus said:
Any comments on the Antec 900 would be nice. As this will be my first time building a computer, I need a case that's fairly easy to build in.

There's at least three forum regulars have the Antec 900 case - a young guy named Belloni, V_R and myself. We all agree tis a fine case, very easy to build in, well laid out and superb for cooling. Looks good too.

Check out V_R's pix in the Forum's photo gallery, he put some of his case in there.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
I wonder if you guys could help me with a couple of questions I have:

Is it wise to get 64Bit Vista yet? Will it have any impact on the more recent games? I hear alot about compatability problems, but have had no first hand experience. (I realise 32Bit won't recognise all 4GB of RAM, but I would still get the 4GB for a future upgrade to 64Bit.)

My other question is:

When will nVidia and Intel release their new GPU and CPU? Because I reckon this would probably allow me to get a better Quad-Core or 8800 GPU due to the prices falling at the release of a new CPU/GPU.

Thanks
 

Alf

Yank Upstart
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
3,193
Reaction score
6
A few nitpicks
get anouther cd/dvd drive, doesnt sound like much but its nice to have two.

was going to find you a different PSU, but that one seems to be good - strange that Scan doesnt carry Antecs.

Nvidia will be releasing thier new core in Feb.
and Intel will release Penryn about the same time.
its up to you if you want to hold until then, remember you never know when (and if) the companies will change thier dates.

Antec 900 is a fine case and carries a good price, if you dont mind a mid tower :D
 

Alf

Yank Upstart
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
3,193
Reaction score
6
as someone who DOESNT have Vista :p.... errm, i dont see much point in getting 64bit Vista if cost more. If there is no price difference then theres no reason not to get it.

I would say 64bit in games would make a difference, like in Crysis. But lets face it, your going to be playing Crysis at Very high (if you going to play at high, then why Vista?) ....on Vista....yea. Not only will Vista (supposidly) cramp your game performance, your going to be getting vaguely playable frames in the first place. I think Alan Wake mey be a 64bit game, but im not to sure.

What i am sure of though, is that 64bit computing has been around for sometime but there is still no killer app for it.

Perhaps Flops can add something, he at least has Vista ... surely he would be keeping an eye out for 64bit apps :D
 
Ad

Advertisements

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
20,252
Reaction score
1,755
Alf said:
What i am sure of though, is that 64bit computing has been around for sometime but there is still no killer app for it.

The only game that looks significantly better for Vista/DX10 is Call Of Juarez which is odd cos that game isn't exactly top of everybody's shopping list.

There again, I don't have many games that support DX10, only Call Of Juarez and Crysis and Crysis don't look any different to how it did in XP:.

I know of at least one forum member here who has 64 bit Vista installed and as far as I know they have no probs with it so far.

But it's possible if you install 64 bit you may encounter probs, especially with older software.

I'm no expert on this, I almost went for 64 bit but bottled out at the last moment and went with 32 bit.

64 Bit is still very much in it's infancy when it comes to both hardware and software.

Put quite simply - I dunno :)

Alf said:
Perhaps Flops can add something, he at least has Vista ... surely he would be keeping an eye out for 64bit apps :D

Nope, see above, only have 32 Bit here.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top