F4 Bluscreen

Reaction score
My computer which I built worked fine for 2 weeks until it took a turn for the worst.
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (2.4GHZ)
Asus A8N32-SLI Deluxe
Windows XP Professional (Of course - I hate home edition!!)

When I start my PC, it should display the "Welcome to Windows" or "Log on to windows" screen with the light blue bacground.

When it starts, sometimes it instantly hangs. It just displays the light blue background, the mouse won't move, no keyboard response...
Sometimes it does an instant BSOD

"A process thread or critical system operation has exited or has been unexpectingly terminated."

"*** STOP 0X000000F4"

I'm a newbie, but can anyone help me????

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Reaction score
If you have just built the pc you might find that doing a re-install of the OS is your quickest and easiest option .
nod.gif

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Reaction score
Start the pc , hit Delete or F8 to get into the Bios , set these to boot from CD first , put XP CD in CD/DVD drive , save and exit bios and the pc should then boot from the cd and let you install XP . you may be best reformatting the drive when it asks where you want the OS placing as you will definitly have a totaly clean install when you have finished . Hope this helps .
nod.gif

Reaction score
What I mean is I activated Windows already. If I reinstall it, i'll want me to activate it again and I can't do that.

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score
danman567555 said:
What I mean is I activated Windows already. If I reinstall it, i'll want me to activate it again and I can't do that.
I have re-installed XP about 7million times, well, try 7 then. The last time I had to call MS on a UK free phone number ... fully automated.

You DO have a Product Key sticker on your case somewhere, don't you?

Why don't you just try it and see ... or buy another copy of Windows ... :rolleyes:

:user:

Reaction score