Expert help

Reaction score
As you can probably tell from my quite indirect thread title, I'm in need of some advice.

Basically, after putting up with my hunk of junk PC for many years I've thought it's about time I buy a replacement. I will mostly be using this system for gaming and internet usage.

After realising that buying a ready made system is far too expensive for my max budget £800, I've decided to research the idea of building it myself.

But here are the two main problems. I've never built a PC before and it's therefore quite a daunting prospect. Secondly, there are so many products out there that I feel I'm often out of my depth when searching for parts.

This is where you guys come in ;)

I was wondering if I could get a few pointers on the best manufacturers, products etc

As far as parts go, the only one I'm certain on so far is the GFX card: The ATI 2900 XT which seems an excellent piece of kit.

Elsewhere I'm rather lost and plagued with different questions. AMD or Intel being the prime one.

I'm swaying towards Intel at the moment. Not only because my last comp. was Intel so they're tried and trusted in that respect, but also because I've read some top reviews from the Foxconn P9657AA motherboard which seems a bargain.

Anyway, thats enough for now. Any help would be hugely appreciated :)

Edit: Forgot to mention. I already have a monitor and a good set of speakers so that helps a lot with the price.

Last edited:

Me__2001

Internet Junkie
Reaction score
building a pc really isn't difficult, its just a case of putting all the bits in the right place

first up i wouldn't get the ATI card, i'd go with a 8800 GTS 640MB version as its slightly better

gimme 5mins and i'll sort out a spec

Edit: ok here ya go

attachment.php

Attachments

• spec.JPG
    spec.JPG
    78.1 KB · Views: 216
Last edited:
Reaction score
Oh thanks, didn't expect that.