Windows XP CPU 100%


Joined
Dec 2, 2007
Messages
198
Reaction score
28
Operating System: Windows XP Anti Virus Software : Microsoft Security Essentials Internet connection ADSL router.
Computer Specifications :- Manufacturer Dell Product Name DIM4500 Machine Type AT/AT COMPATIBLE
Windows XP Personal Service Pack 3
Security 128 bits
Windows Update's version number 7.2.6001.788
Workgroup MSHOME
Active Desktop Installed

OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3 Build 2600
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Manufacturer Dell Computer Corporation
System Model DIM4500
System Type X86-based PC
Processor x86 Family 15 Model 2 Stepping 4 GenuineIntel ~2392 Mhz
BIOS Version/Date Intel Corp. A02, 22/05/2002
SMBIOS Version 2.3
Windows Directory C:\WINDOWS
System Directory C:\WINDOWS\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume2
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "5.1.2600.5512 (xpsp.080413-2111)"
Time Zone GMT Standard Time
Total Physical Memory 1,024.00 MB
Available Physical Memory 201.79 MB
Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
Available Virtual Memory 1.96 GB
Page File Space 1.39 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys

Hello
I use my old XP machine only for certain applications that I can’t transfer to my Win 7 mc without significant cost.
All of a sudden the cpu starts running at 100% with no applications open. Sometimes it settles down but then ramps up again making the machine virtually unusable.
Anybody any clue?
Terry :confused:
 
Ad

Advertisements

EvanDavis

Silly Fool
Joined
Jun 20, 2010
Messages
5,015
Reaction score
639
My first thought would be to open Task Manager and look in the Processes Tab to see that there isn't anything untoward in there that shouldn't be there.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2007
Messages
198
Reaction score
28
Hi guys,
Evan, I tried looking at ‘Task Manager’ but don’t know what to look for?
Muckshifter, I looked at your link to trendmicro who offered three security products at a cost (& free trial). Don’t know which one you are suggesting or if it is appropriate as I run MSE & IObit malwear fighter?
 

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
25,673
Reaction score
1,167
Hi guys,
Evan, I tried looking at ‘Task Manager’ but don’t know what to look for?
Muckshifter, I looked at your link to trendmicro who offered three security products at a cost (& free trial). Don’t know which one you are suggesting or if it is appropriate as I run MSE & IObit malwear fighter?

Press the button to start the scan, the 32bit one ... is all.
 
Joined
Dec 2, 2007
Messages
198
Reaction score
28
Did the trendmicro housecall, no treats found. ‘Advanced System Care’ found some problems but I don’t think they were causing the main problem.
Its settle down a bit, only occasionally ramping to 100% and is usable.
So thanks, I will see how it goes.
TJ
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top