build/buy triple monitor graphics workstation

Reaction score
I'm interested to build a custom system or buy pre-built if it matches my specs. I've not built a computer before:) I am a freelance designer/developer and typically spend around 10+ hours a day at my machines - I'm currently using 3 laptops but want to consolidate on a top spec desktop. My interests are photography and digital art.

- I need to run lots of apps simultaneously: Photoshop, Flash, Illustrator, Dreamweaver, Open Office, couple of browsers, email, IM etc
- I need fast response
- I need the system to be quiet - very important
- I do audio/music work and will scale this up in the future so I need a decent soundcard and speakers
- I DON'T do any video or 3D modelling/rendering (maybe once in a blue moon)
- I do NOT need this system for playing games
- I want to run 3 flat monitors at pretty hi Res (is 1600x1200 too ambitious?). I need professional calibrated colour on at least one monitor.
- I run a network of 4 Windows machines and 1 OSX Mac

I'd like lots of RAM (4 gig?), nice fast big hard drives(s), usb + firewire, ethernet (guess I don't need wireless in a desktop?), good quality DVD/CD read/writer, wireless ergonomic mouse and keyboard, Vista Ultimate.

Any buying advice based on these specific needs appreciated, especially the monitors. Cheers

Reaction score
You could use 2 graphics PCI-Express graphics cards.
Most come with DVI & Monitor connectors, hence you could get 3 monitors off 2 cards.
But i think this needs the brains of others that are more gifted in the latest gear, i'm not:blush:
I'm sure others will be able to advise you better than i can, you may have to wait a few hours longer.

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
Based on your requirements, I put together the following parts for the central tower system only.