YouTube advice

Reaction score
Is it possible to download and save a video from YouTube?
I need to get the band of the Royal Marines playing Land of Hope and Glory and Rule Britannia at an event I am organising and there is no Wi-Fi there.

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
The Opera Browser has a plug-in named FVD Video Downloader Extension which enables YouTube videos (and others) to be downloaded. You simply open the online video then click on an icon in the taskbar and choose the resolution you want to download in.

I will say though that I've only used this app in Linux Mint but it should work in Windows.

Both Opera and the plug-in are free, I've been using this setup for around six months or so now with good results.

There are other free apps out there but that one's the only one I'm familiar with.

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Reaction score
Is it possible to download and save a video from YouTube?
I need to get the band of the Royal Marines playing Land of Hope and Glory and Rule Britannia at an event I am organising and there is no Wi-Fi there.

If you are using FireFox this is one of the best add-ons for your task,

Video DownloadHelper
For instance, if you go to a YouTube page, you'll be able to download the video directly on your file system. It also works with most video sites like DailyMotion, Facebook, Periscope, Vimeo, Twitch, Liveleak, Vine, UStream, Fox, Bloomberg, RAI, France 2-3, Break, Metacafe and thousands others.

Video DownloadHelper supports several types of streamings, making the add-on unique amongst Video downloaders: HTTP, MP2T, F4F, … Whenever a site uses a non-supported streaming technology, Video DownloadHelper is also able to capture directly from the screen and generate a video file out of it.

:cool:

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
I've also used Video Download Helper in Firefox in the past but found it balked at some videos. Not many but it did turn its nose up at some. This was in Linux Mint.