Your Job??

Rush

Cool Cruncher
Reaction score
I am just a Team Leader of 26 men .. My manager has been off for 4 wks with a bad back (slipped disc) will be off for a while longer. So now i have to cover 24/7 and shutdown TPM. We bought a caravan last year to enjoy weekends..i have had 2(weekends off ) this year..where do i stand legally?? . My wife is threatinging me ..the Big D

please help as my Works Manager does not give a toss, and i dont know what to do without jeapordising my job ?

Last edited:
Reaction score
How about talking to the boss of your boss?

Tell him how you feel.

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
Sorry to hear that mate :( I'm no expert in employment law, but someone else here may know a thing or two.

How many hours a week are you working, is it way more than normal?

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
Maybe you could develop a slipped disc as well.

Tread carefully, there's a lot of unemployment about.

Would your wife prefer you to be free weekends with no money coming in or carry on as you are?

It's a fine line between moral standpoints and going hungry so as I said, tread carefully.

And FWIW you have my sympathies.

Taffycat

Crunchy Cat
Reaction score
Sorry to hear about your problems Rush :( ...not sure if this might give you some general pointers HERE and, there is also a new, confidential, "Pay and Work Rights Helpline" HERE (same website, but different page.) Wishing you good luck, hope things will work out for you. :nod:

Reaction score
I'd say get the flu for yourself m8 but what Flopp's said about treading carefully is good advice, considering the economy and all that.....who do you ring if you get sick or have an accident. If you continue this pattern of working 24/7 you will run yourself into the ground and could cause yourself an accident or make yourself really ill. We are not robots and we do feel stress. Take care and i hope you find a way around this.

Quadophile

Hon. Acoustical Engineer
Reaction score