Your favorite Linux distro' and why?

Reaction score
I used to use SUSE but had problems with 8.2. I'm now using Mandrake 10 and very good it is too.

Nick

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
I've only ever tried Mandrake and Red Hat. I preferred Mandrake simply because it's more user friendly, although purists would argue that Mandrake is a somewhat bastardised version of Linux. But that don't bother me, I'm a noob, can't compile a kernel or anything yet, I just happy if a distro works for me:D

I also have Slackware 9.1 on a couple of CD's I burnt from downloaded ISO's, might give that a try.

I'm currently putting together a machine mostly for Linux Distros, it has one of those hard disk caddies that I can swap HDD's in and out of. I have two 40Gb HDD's atm, going to load Win 98 (for old games and DOS) on one and Mandrake 10 on the other.

Reaction score
floppybootstomp said:
I'm currently putting together a machine mostly for Linux Distros, it has one of those hard disk caddies that I can swap HDD's in and out of. I have two 40Gb HDD's atm, going to load Win 98 (for old games and DOS) on one and Mandrake 10 on the other.

<cough>grouptest<cough>article<cough>

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
Matt Jason H said:
<cough>grouptest<cough>article<cough>
Maybe Matt, maybe, but it's not exactly ground breaking stuff is it?

I have three of those HDD caddies I bought from a computer fair three of four years ago, figured I'd make use of them. Instead of having a multi boot system I figured I'd just swap OS's in and out.

It's a fairly risk free way of messing about with distros, imo. I could also put a hard disk in there for storage as well, divided into two partitions perhaps, FAT 32 and ext2, for data storage.

I have at last finally gathered all the parts to build this machine, I'm using an Asus A7V8X-X motherboard, as the Abit KR7A-R board I was going to use was going a bit wobbly, was throwing up all kinds of errors, so I'm discarding it.