Win 10 Home activation code pricing

Windows 10 Discussion in 'Windows' started by floppybootstomp, Oct 28, 2017.

  1. floppybootstomp

    floppybootstomp sugar 'n spikes Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Likes Received:
    1,589
    Location:
    Greenwich
    I've been thinking about putting Windows 10 on my 2nd machine (current main OS's on it are Win 7 and Linux Mint).

    I'm quite happy using Win 10 Home, don't need the Pro version, and I have Win 10 Home 64 Bit burnt to a DVD that I recently used to do a fresh install.

    Shopping around I note that Amazon have several vendors offering activation codes for as little as £18 whilst the highest price for Win 10 home is around £130.00.

    What I'd like to know is - are these activation codes OK? The real thing? Not Warez? Are they puckah squire? I know it's Amazon and I'd expect to be able to trust any Amazon vendors but the price makes me wary.

    Anybody ever used such a purchase? Any views?
     
    floppybootstomp, Oct 28, 2017
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. floppybootstomp

    muckshifter I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition. Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Likes Received:
    968
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    muckshifter, Oct 28, 2017
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. floppybootstomp

    V_R ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Likes Received:
    1,456
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I'd imagine the really cheap ones that are too cheap may not be genuine.
     
    V_R, Oct 28, 2017
    #3
  4. floppybootstomp

    floppybootstomp sugar 'n spikes Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Likes Received:
    1,589
    Location:
    Greenwich
    I went to Mucks' link and as that particular supplier was out of stock went for the next cheapest DVD version which was £27.

    It should be here together with an SSD on Tuesday, I'll let you know how I get on.
     
    floppybootstomp, Oct 28, 2017
    #4
    muckshifter likes this.
  5. floppybootstomp

    floppybootstomp sugar 'n spikes Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Likes Received:
    1,589
    Location:
    Greenwich
    Goodness gracious, it arrived today :eek:

    They've sent me an OEM version of Win 10 Pro 64 bit and on the package it mentions '...using the OEM pre-installation tools...' and then gives a link to a page on the Microsoft website.

    Should I pay heed to this? I will be doing a fresh install so do I just boot from the DVD in the normal way?
     
    floppybootstomp, Oct 29, 2017
    #5
  6. floppybootstomp

    V_R ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Likes Received:
    1,456
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I'd use the Media Creation tool, that way it'll have most of the patches etc including the Fall Creators Update too.
     
    V_R, Oct 29, 2017
    #6
    Ian likes this.
  7. floppybootstomp

    floppybootstomp sugar 'n spikes Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Likes Received:
    1,589
    Location:
    Greenwich
    I'd already tried that, thought I'd make a Win 10 Pro DVD but each time I tried Microsoft told me I couldn't use their Media Creation Tool as 'there's a problem and we're not sure why'.

    All I'm wondering is whether the install will be straightforward from the DVD I now have or are there caveats pertaining to OEM versions of Win 10?

    tbh I very much doubt it but I thought it wouldn't hurt to ask, maybe somebody here has been through a similar setup.

    And I don't mind sitting through all the updates and patching, this is for my secondary machine so time isn't critical.
     
    floppybootstomp, Oct 29, 2017
    #7
  8. floppybootstomp

    muckshifter I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition. Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Likes Received:
    968
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    I booted from the DVD & went and put the kettle on.

    Patching didn't take that long on a fast download. :)

     
    muckshifter, Oct 29, 2017
    #8
    EvanDavis likes this.
  9. floppybootstomp

    floppybootstomp sugar 'n spikes Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Likes Received:
    1,589
    Location:
    Greenwich
    Win 10 now up and running on 2nd machine, there were no problems installing the OEM version with the disk and activation code I purchased from Amazon for £27.00. Which is a good deal, imo

    It did take a long time to install all the updates and I now have the latest version of Redmond's finest - V15063.

    There have been a few odd quirks during the install but the one that caused the most concern was the Nvidia graphics drivers would not install until I had the latest version of Win 10 installed, several times Nvidia informed me that their latest video driver was 'not compatible with this version of Windows'. Which, imo, is a bit wrong, are Nvidia drivers only suitable for the latest suited and booted Win 10?

    Still have lots of installing and configuring to do but so far so good - and it's fast.

    And before I close this post I'd just like to say that if I could put my hands round Cortana's neck I would squeeze very hard and very slowly until it was bereft of life.
     
    floppybootstomp, Oct 31, 2017
    #9
    EvanDavis likes this.
  10. floppybootstomp

    muckshifter I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition. Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Likes Received:
    968
    Location:
    In a Hovel
    Cortana is a vampire who is also immune to the silver bullet and wooden stake ... like a Volvo car, the lights never go out!

    :user:
     
    muckshifter, Nov 1, 2017
    #10
    floppybootstomp and EvanDavis like this.
  11. floppybootstomp

    nivrip Yorkshire Cruncher

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Likes Received:
    1,416
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    I just ignore her (it). :D
     
    nivrip, Nov 1, 2017
    #11
  12. floppybootstomp

    crazylegs Member Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Out There!
  13. floppybootstomp

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Likes Received:
    929
    Ian, Nov 13, 2017
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.