what's the best silent CPU cooler??

Reaction score
hi everyone

I have a dual processing athlon. It has 2 x 1.8GHz processors.

It gets very hot, even with the 2 fans that I already have on the motherboard.

I also have fans mounted to 2 of my hard drives (these are OK), but now the base unit sounds very much like an aeroplane.

I'm looking for really good CPU fans that are very very quiet and keeps the heat down really well.

I think that the over heating / crappy fan problem in the PC is causing it to crash (fairly regularly).

Any advice as to what CPU cooling/silent fans are the best in performance and cheapest in terms of value for money (Can't spend too much as I need 2.......................and I'm a student!!)

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
Best Coolers for AMD CPU's I've ever used are Thermalright. The SK-7 seems to be a good compromise between price and performance at around £21.00 each.

Couple those with a couple of Pabst, Panaflo or even YS-Tech fans (YS-Tech if you're on a budget) and you should have a result.

And don't forget to use some good thermal Compound, Arctic Silver 3 or 5 are both good.

Heatsinks link Here

Quietest solution I know though, is probably the Zalman copper finned, but probably wouldn't suit in Dual CPU setup, due to the fan(s) being mounted on overhead brackets. And they're £35-00 to £40.00 each, inc. fan & bracket.

Reaction score
I have looked at the photos of the fans that you (floppybootstomp) and others have suggested.

I didn't realize how scarey they would be to fit onto my motherboard which needs 2 fans because it's a dual processor!!

The ones I've got on there already are little plastic things that can be screwed into it using 4 tiny screws and they have like 1 obvious connection to the motherboard. (3 pin I think, can't remember).

Would something like a thermalright (am thinking SK-6) be easy for a novice to fit onto an Athlon processor?