vista sharing all of Users when only sub-folder is shared


G

Guest

i have two vista business machines, laptop and desktop.

both members of the same workgroup. network discovery, file sharing, and
password protected file sharing enabled. i log into both systems with the
same login and password (local accounts on each system).

starting with nothing shared on the laptop (confirmed via looking at
'computer management->shared folders')

i right click 'music' folder on laptop, select 'share', and leave default
values (my username, 'owner' permission level, and hit 'share' button.

on my desktop, i go to network, find the laptop, and see that 'Users' is now
shared, not 'Music'. because Users is shared, i can get to -all- files
under that folder on my laptop, from my desktop. wtf?

why is vista not just sharing 'Music'?
 
Ad

Advertisements

G

Guest

thanks for the pointer, but unfortunately it doesn't. there is no mention
of vista automatically sharing all of a users' files, when just a certain
subdirectory is shared.

i want to share just my music, not -all- my files. even though i select
and share just the music folder, -all- of 'Users' is shared instead, which is
my problem.
 
G

Guest

I have the exactly same problem. I'm wondering if anybody else noticed it.
And as I can see, no replies from Microsoft.......

George
Athens, Greece

*******************
Greece, Land of the Gods
Sea and Sun are our birthrights
********************
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top