Sound issues


Joined
Dec 22, 2004
Messages
1,166
Reaction score
1
Right, Antec 900 case all in, everything is fine, but i am getting the sound connectors wrong me thinks.

Here are my options - (Cables) HD AUDIO/AC'97
(Motherboard connections) CD-IN/AUX/SPEARK OUT

Now, all these are only one line of pins as the cables have the double et of pins with one corner missing so ...

Damn my ancient motherboard :(
 
Ad

Advertisements

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
20,252
Reaction score
1,755
The cable is for front case audio connections.

The motherboard connector you refer to is for internal connection to a sound card.

It's very likely your motherboard does not have a connector for front of case audio connections.

Have a good look in the motherboard manual or if you haven't got a manual, take a good look round the motherboard.

If you can't find a socket, don't worry about it, leave the cable hanging loose, unconnected.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2003
Messages
5,788
Reaction score
4
so what is the problem?

does the sound not work at all?

what motherboard is that there?
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2004
Messages
1,166
Reaction score
1
Hmm so how do i get sound then?

No sound at all no, using the back green port for sound as usual.

Screen shot of my motherboard if that helps at all.
 

Attachments

  • MB.JPG
    MB.JPG
    137.6 KB · Views: 250
Last edited:

V_R

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Moderator
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
13,549
Reaction score
1,867
If it worked before you changed the case, i can only assume its not connected properly.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Dec 22, 2004
Messages
1,166
Reaction score
1
I have re-connected every single wire from the sound system, still nothing.

Maybe i knocked the motherboard or something jolting the green socket where it goes or something?
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2004
Messages
1,166
Reaction score
1
Hmm still can't think what, so i'm guessing i'll buy the following? -

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=SP-039-LG&groupid=702&catid=22&subcat=

http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=SC-001-OK&groupid=701&catid=11&subcat=

(Just wondering, looking at the OCuk sound card, it doesn't have a green socket? I thought this was the sound part so? If not shall i get - http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=SC-000-OK&groupid=701&catid=11&subcat= instead?)

Don't want to spend too much as you can see ;) These seem ok, 2.1 to 5.1 will be quite a jump for me also.
 

Me__2001

Internet Junkie
Joined
Apr 5, 2004
Messages
4,354
Reaction score
1
before you go rushing off and wasting money

post a decent pic of the connectors you have and the pins on the motherboard

also what speakers do you have ?
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2004
Messages
1,166
Reaction score
1
Sure.

The motherboard sockets are the - CD-IN/AUX/SPEAKR OUT as you can see these are single line pins so ...

The two connectors that are free are the AC'97 and HD AUDIO and from the picture they are the double lined pins.

But i am using the back green socket so i don't get how these would work :s

(Sorry for the poor quality as well, damn camera phone!)

I'm using Creative 2.1 Inspire 2500 speakers, about 4 years old now along with my PC ;)

Really can't think why they won't work, only thing i can think of is if i knocked the motherboard? I don't think i could have deleted a driver or something as they were working right before i switched cases, and i can't seem to find a driver download for my ones either :s

EDIT: Also, in my old case i had a connector running the AUX pins and one going to the far right connector called 'FRONT HP OUT' which i don't have any more, and also, in the newest picture i had a wire going to the blue connector you see next to the white one if that helps.

Really stressing me out this is!
 

Attachments

  • DSC00300.JPG
    DSC00300.JPG
    125 KB · Views: 169
  • DSC00301.JPG
    DSC00301.JPG
    112.8 KB · Views: 164
  • DSC00305.JPG
    DSC00305.JPG
    113.4 KB · Views: 138
  • DSC00306.JPG
    DSC00306.JPG
    109.4 KB · Views: 166
Last edited:

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
10,933
Reaction score
1,179
I've got brand new still in its shrink wrap a ,

Trust SC-5100 5 in 1 sound card ,

and a used once to test only ,

Trust SC-5250 5in 1 with extra optical connectors ,

going spare if you don't want to pay OC's expensive postage charges :D

You set up yuor sound settings through control panel didn't you ???? :D
 
Ad

Advertisements

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
20,252
Reaction score
1,755
Right, let's have a look at this logically.

The sound worked before you swapped cases - correct?

If so, it should work now.

I'm assuming there are no connectors on the motherboard to take the front panel audio connectors on the Antec 900.

If there ARE connectors other than those CD ones you mentioned, it's likely the sound won't work until you connect front audio connectors or fit some jumpers (see manual).

But you say there aren't any other connectors....

You DO have a motherboard manual, don't you?

Possible reasons the sound won't work:

The volume's muted within Control Panel (Uncheck the mute function).
Sound setup is wrong in Control Panel (Select 2.1 or whatever).
The onboard sound drivers have become corrupted.(Re-install them)
The onboard sound is turned off in the Bios.
Your speakers are knackered. (have you tried headphones?)
The motherboard sound chip is knackered.

Can't think of anything else offhand.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Dec 22, 2004
Messages
1,166
Reaction score
1
Yes it did.

Well, there are no connectors that i can see that actually fit the ones that take the audio. None that match AC'97 or HD AUDIO.

I don't have the motherboard manual atm, i can't find it as we speak will look later and ask parents. However i brought this PC from HP in Singapore 4 years ago and i don't even think they provided one!

Volume is not muted.
Desktop Speakers is set as they don't give the options of 2.1
Drivers could be out of date, i've tried various websites to download the latest one but to no avail have they actually downloaded? (Website just blanks when i try)
How do i turn it on via BIOS?
Headphones don't seem to be working either.

Grrrrrrr!!! Might as well have brought a whole new damn PC.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top