Scan Suck - Warranty Refused

Reaction score
I wondered if anyone out there has any more stories about their bad experiences with scan? I have. I have been building computers for several years and never once have I damaged the socket on installation or removal of a CPU and this wasn't going to be such an occasion either.

The background to this situation is that I purchased a complete custom build as recommended by CUSTOM PC magazine. One item of which recommended was the Gigabyte P55M-UD2. The board burned out and I had it RMA'ed and replaced by Scan the first time - that was good, well I had just spent over a grand with them on this one occasion, not to mention over that number in my history with them not accounting their newer account management system.

After a year, the board burned out again. The northbridge chips had blown. After emailing them about it and getting replies marked with contempt they eventually allowed me the RMA. It seems they dislike people who are making more work for them.

I double-wrapped the motherboard with bubble wrap and put it into a cardboard envelope sent by signed courier to Scan returns. They tested the board and sent me an automated reply of warranty being 'Rejected'. I had to login to Scan.co.uk to find out that their tester had said some northbridge chips had blown, but were unable to test the board because the socket had taken extensive damage.

I thought they could be professional about the process since according to their technical manager "none of it comes out of our pocket, we just get the manufacturer to exchange it and so it is no problem for us" - needless to say, either I am a hysterical liar, or someone stuck some tweezers in my dead board socket and twisted and bent some pins. This could not have come about from delivery and neither would I purposely damage my board so that it is refused warranty.