pc keeps blowing fuses in plug!!!!

Reaction score
Hi i am a newbie to this site, I am racking my brains with my pc and its driving me insane. It keeps blowing fuses. I could be burning a cd , running a virus scan, simple stuff on pc, burning a dvd and guess what the 5 amp fuse in the power plug keeps blowing. Does anyone know what this could be ? Could it be pc power supply? I have a 400 watt power supply. Thanx to you all for looking at this Deanne

gabriella

Sunflower Queen
Reaction score
OK Deanne

Welcome first of all!!

Can we start with the simple stuff, is it just the PC or anything else that's blowing? My house has been rewired recently and occasionally one of the main fuses trips (but no individual fuses blow).

Blown fuses usually indicate that too much power is getting through and is a safety mechanism. If there are no problems elsewhere I would suggest getting it checked with a local electrician.

Let us know how you get on.

Gabs x

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
A 5A fuse shouldn't blow easily - and I wouldn't stick a 13A in there as it must be blowing for a reason. Did it come with a 5A fuse already fitted?

Also, do you know your PSU make?

Reaction score
Hi Gabs,
Thankyou for your welcome.
It is just the pc that is blowing, i just ran a virus scan and the fuse blew from that!!! i have the pc plugged into a surge protector, we thought maybe it was this so we plugged the fuse into another plug without a surge protector and it still did the same. its such a nightmare cant do anything!!!!

gabriella said:
OK Deanne

Welcome first of all!!

Can we start with the simple stuff, is it just the PC or anything else that's blowing? My house has been rewired recently and occasionally one of the main fuses trips (but no individual fuses blow).

Blown fuses usually indicate that too much power is getting through and is a safety mechanism. If there are no problems elsewhere I would suggest getting it checked with a local electrician.