New Broadband Set-up Needed

Adywebb

Growing old....
Reaction score
I am moving house at the end of the month and will need to set up broadband there.

Currently I have Telewest cable which has been fantastically reliable, but unfortunately the new house is unable to receive cable :(

The previous occupiers had PlusNet ADSL via a Netgear Wireless ADSL Router connected to the master phone socket in the hallway and say it worked fine and seemed reliable.

Due to the number of machines I have I obviously don't want them in the hallway and would rather have them wired for better reliability - so my intention is to have them installed in one of the upstairs bedrooms.

I have never used ADSL broadband before so I need a bit of advice.

First Issue: If I use a high quality twisted pair RJ11 to RJ11 extention cable such as THIS from the hallway socket to a modem upstairs in the bedroom - will this be OK, or is it likely to cause signal quality problems? or am I better off having the master socket moved completely into the bedroom?

Second Issue: Do I use PlusNet as the previous occupiers have had, or do I change and go say with BT so that both line and broadband is under one roof?

Third Issue: What Wireless ADSL Broadband Router would folks recommend? - PlusNet&BT both supply BT Voyagers - are they OK? I currently use a Belkin Wireless Cable Router and it has been fantastically reliable, but I have seen some negative posts regarding the wireless range on their standard ADSL routers - what about Netgear/Linksys, and anyone here use a 3-Com router and can tell me their experience?

I think thats enough for folks to chew over for now - all help much appreciated :D

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score