Need help/advice on new camera (6mp+)

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm new here and am looking for some advice or help.

Basically I have had a Casio Qv4000 4.1mp camera for the past 3 or so years (picked up from Heathrow duty free for £600 at the time!) and only recently it has decided to pack in, sadly. It now only takes complete black images and the lcd screen no longer works. I figure for what it might cost to fix it, I can get a new one with a higher resolution. It served me well, and while I am not a daunting professional photographer, it produced (what I thought to be) great pics and images.

But now I must move on. And I am looking at the 6mp+ range of cameras, with a budget of around £450 or so. Why 6mp+? Well, i figure with £450 to spend, why not? But I am open to advice/suggestions in this area..

I was specifically looking at the Powershot s70 camera, mainly because my friend has an older Canon and it seems to be great. I especially like how his connects to the PC for image transfer - very clean, and quick.

My problem is - i *really* don't know what is/isn't good. I would like a higher res camera, but am unsure as to which has the better image quality as reviews online are often sketchy. I'm trying to avoid a Sony, not because I dislike them, but because they use the mem sticks and I already have several compact flash cards from the old camera and well as other devices which i can use.

So, if some kind people out there with worldy wisdom could give me some advice, I would appreciate it. Personal opinions, suggestions, all is welcome.

Thanks!

gabriella

Sunflower Queen
Reaction score
Dear Iasw

Quadophile is the man for this one and I am sure he will reply to you.

Gabriella x

Reaction score
Heh, I thought so, from reading thru the threads :)

Hope you can hear my pleas, Quadophile!

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
I'd say the Canon S70 is a good choice.