Need advice on upgrading ram.


Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Hi guys,

I am a bit confused as to what ram to buy to upgrade my desktop PC.

Below are my system specs, I want to put at least a 512 in with one of my 256. I was told that I had to buy a certain ram that suits my PC.

Any help would be great.

Windows: Windows XP5.1 (Build 2600) Service Pack 2

Internet Explorer: 7.0.5730.11

Memory (RAM): 448 MB

CPU Info: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.40GHz

CPU Speed: 2337.7 MHz

Sound card: SigmaTel Audio

Display Adapters: SiS 650 | NetMeeting driver | RDPDD Chained DD |

Screen Resolution: 1024 X 768

Network: Network Present

Network Adapters: SMC EZ Card 10/100 Fast Ethernet PCI Network Adapter - Packet Scheduler Miniport |

CD / DVD Drives: Q: PIONEER DVD-RW DVR-105 |

Default Printer: Lexmark P910 Series

COM Ports: COM1 | COM2 | COM3 |

LPT Ports: LPT1 |

Mouse: 3 Button Wheel Mouse Present

Hard Disks: C: 74.5GB |

Hard Disks - Free: C: 58.1GB |

USB Controllers: Detected: 2 host controllers.

Firewire (1394): Not Detected

PCMCIA (Laptops): Not Installed

Manufacturer: American Megatrends Inc.

Product Make: 00000000000000000000000

Serial Number: 029672620117

AC Power Status: OnLine

BIOS Info: AT/AT COMPATIBLE | 11/02/02 | AMIINT - 10 | |

Time Zone: GMT Standard Time

Battery: No Battery

Motherboard: Packard Bell NEC

Modems:

 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Thanks for the reply..

Apart from contacting them are there any other ways to find out what is compatible.

Had this come back.

We're sorry.
Crucial currently does not have any compatible upgrades available for your particular system
 

Ian

Administrator
Joined
Feb 23, 2002
Messages
19,723
Reaction score
1,394
If the crucial memory tool can't figure it out, we'll need to know the computer model or specific motherboard - although you posted plenty of specs, the main one used to identify the ram isn't there ;) Big system builders like Packard Bell often bury the motherboard name somewhere hard to find (if at all) in the documentation, so it might be easiest to just find the model number and we can do a google for the system specs.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2007
Messages
4
Reaction score
0
Had this from that program.


Memory Controller
Error Detecting Method None
Error Correcting Capability N/A
Enabled Error Correcting N/A
Supported Interleave One Way Interleave
Current Interleave One Way Interleave
Maximum Memory Size per Slot 1 GB
Supported Speed(s) N/A
Memory Module Voltage 3.3 Volts
Number of Memory Slots 2
Memory Module Config Handles $08, $09

Supported Memory Types
Supports Standard Type No
Supports Fast Page Mode No
Supports EDO No
Supports Parity No
Supports ECC No
Supports SIMM No
Supports DIMM Yes
Supports Burst EDO No
Supports SDRAM Yes

Memory Module
Socket Designation DDR0
Bank Connections RAS 0, RAS 1
Current Speed Unknown
Current Memory Type DIMM, SDRAM
Installed Size 256 MB
Enabled Size 256 MB
Correctable Error Exists No
Uncorrectable Error Exists No

Memory Module
Socket Designation DDR1
Bank Connections RAS 0, RAS 35
Current Speed Unknown
Current Memory Type DIMM, SDRAM
Installed Size 256 MB
Enabled Size 256 MB
Correctable Error Exists No
Uncorrectable Error Exists No

_______________________________________________________________________________
Generated by FreshDiagnose (c) 2007, FreshDevices, Corp.
Monday, Aug 13, 2007 03:05:51 pm


Thank for the help guys.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads

No LPT ports 2
call of duty blackscreen 1
Scanner nor recognized 7
Scanner not working 1
Missing Sys Tray Icons 8
Prospective new rig advice 11
Slow to open files 18
Looking for Buying Advice on AMD Gaming PC 2

Top