popular, in terms of being owned and used, version of Vista is, and is
expected to be.

I'm a technician, am about to buy a Vista laptop, and my primary
consideration is to first acquire the version that I'm most likely to be
hired to fix.

Thanks, in advance,

Home Premium and then Ultimate.

An often irreverent look at some of the week's other news
by Paul Thurrott, (e-mail address removed)

Shock and Awe: Microsoft Earnings Blow Past Expectations

We often joke about how Microsoft makes a billion dollars every quarter, but this time the
company really did: Last night, the software giant announced profits of almost $5 billion on
revenue of a whopping $14.4 billion in the first quarter 2007, both of which are records for
Microsoft and huge gains over the same quarter last year (when the company's profits rose 65
percent and its revenue was up 32 percent). Microsoft credited unexpectedly high sales of
Windows Vista and Microsoft Office 2007 for the boost, and backed that up with
numbers: Its Windows client division brought in $5.27 billion, up 67 percent from a year ago,
and the division responsible for Office 2007 saw sales rise 34 percent to $4.83 billion.
Microsoft said that the Windows sales mix for the quarter was 85 percent Vista, 15 percent
Windows XP. You can try to paint Vista as a failure, but the reality is that the latest version
of Windows is off to a smoking start. Don't believe the FUD.

Comparing Apples to Oranges. Or at Least to Microsoft.

Industry darling Apple released its first quarter 2007 financial results earlier this week, and
the press reacted with the usual amounts of hyperbole and glee. Let's compare the results from
Apple and Microsoft, shall we? Apple's revenue of $5.26 billion was about one-third of
Microsoft's. Microsoft's profits last quarter were six and a half times bigger than those of
Apple's, which made $770 million. Why is this amount notable? Apple was widely applauded for