Metro 2033 on my Arch/Skylake


Abarbarian

Acruncher
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
10,837
Reaction score
1,123
https://www.dropbox.com/s/b4u65zk9cnm42qv/2018-03-19 11-50-12.flv?dl=0

Hi folks messing around with me first try at recording a game. I am using Open Broadcaster Software (© 2012-2018. OBS and OBS Studio are created and maintained by Jim) on my Skylake build running Arch.

I am stuck in the game and can not make any sense of what to do. I have tried many times and am sick of re-running the same scene.
I have had a look at all the guides available on the net and they are no help. All the videos I found do not seem to show the same game as the one I am playing.
So I made a video of where I am stuck. Can anyone offer any help ? ;)
 
Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Becky

Webmistress
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Messages
7,424
Reaction score
1,510
It's simple, you need to kill that thing that attacked you :p

Seriously though, looks tough. One hit kill? Eesh. Can you lower the difficulty settings temporarily or would that not help?

According to the walkthrough you need to "proceed by shooting down the remaining weakened support in order to bring down the track and the Panzer before the tank destroys Artyom's trolley". http://metrovideogame.wikia.com/wiki/Trolley_Combat

However looks like it may be a bug, other people have had the same problem: http://steamcommunity.com/app/286690/discussions/0/405693392918803382/
 

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
10,837
Reaction score
1,123
It's simple, you need to kill that thing that attacked you :p

Seriously though, looks tough. One hit kill? Eesh. Can you lower the difficulty settings temporarily or would that not help?

According to the walkthrough you need to "proceed by shooting down the remaining weakened support in order to bring down the track and the Panzer before the tank destroys Artyom's trolley". http://metrovideogame.wikia.com/wiki/Trolley_Combat

However looks like it may be a bug, other people have had the same problem: http://steamcommunity.com/app/286690/discussions/0/405693392918803382/

Thanks, I never found that discussion about possible bugs. However the walkthrough is not the same as my game. There are significant differences I don't know why.
There are only two difficulties and I am on the lowest one.
Good idea about killing the thing, I'll give that a try .
:(
 
Last edited:

Becky

Webmistress
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Messages
7,424
Reaction score
1,510
There are significant differences I don't know why.

That's really weird, does this type of level appear anywhere else in the game? Maybe you could see if there's a cheat to make yourself invincible or something... :confused:
 

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
10,837
Reaction score
1,123
That's really weird, does this type of level appear anywhere else in the game? Maybe you could see if there's a cheat to make yourself invincible or something... :confused:

Sadly no invincible cheats. On the videos, either they are from a standard 2033 so maybe they are different or from an XBox game which might be different. I did go through a station but it was not like the one in the videos and I have not had to go through a barrier on the track. Maybe both of those will come later in my game but I do not think so.

I know folk here have played Metro 2033 and possibly finished the game. So was hoping they might offer some insights. Is Metro 2033 Redux that much different from the original ?

I'm a tad hacked of. However I have managed to get Borderlands the Prequel starting on my Arch setup with the help and a simple hack obtained from the G+ forum.

How do game producers get away with shoddy product ? Guess we can only be glad they do not make cars etc etc ;)
 

Becky

Webmistress
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Messages
7,424
Reaction score
1,510
Last resort maybe...

God mode and/or unlimited ammunition
Find in your game folder the file user.cfg. Edit it in notepad. FInd the lines: g_global_god off g_god off g_unlimitedammo off Change the first two lines to "on" if you want to gain god mode, change the last one to have unlimited ammunition. Save and play.

https://www.gamespot.com/metro-2033/cheats/
 
Ad

Advertisements

Becky

Webmistress
Joined
Mar 25, 2003
Messages
7,424
Reaction score
1,510
Ah that's a shame, I was really hoping you'd be able to find a way around it :(
 
Ad

Advertisements

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
10,837
Reaction score
1,123
Ah that's a shame, I was really hoping you'd be able to find a way around it :(

Tis a shame as the game stresses the pc a lot tless than it does when running it on Windows 7. The cpu cooling fan ramps up to a much higher level when running the game on Windows 7.
breakfast.gif
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top