Meetings


G

Guest

One of our users configured his Outlook to sent all his items (including
Calendar items) to a pst file. Seeing that this should not be done in the
company, I copied all the Calendar items back to his "main" Calendar.
However, now all his reoccuring meetings have a problem. If one of these
reoccuring meetings is cancel or changes are made to them, this user's
Calendar still has the meeting on his Calendar even after "remove from
calendar".

Any resolutions on this?
 
Ad

Advertisements

B

Brian Tillman

wli2k2 said:
One of our users configured his Outlook to sent all his items
(including Calendar items) to a pst file. Seeing that this should
not be done in the company, I copied all the Calendar items back to
his "main" Calendar. However, now all his reoccuring meetings have a
problem. If one of these reoccuring meetings is cancel or changes
are made to them, this user's Calendar still has the meeting on his
Calendar even after "remove from calendar".

Are you using an Exchange server? What version of Outlook? Where is this
person's delivery location? Did you try a new mail profile?
 
G

Guest

We are using Exchange 2000 and the client is Outlook 2003. New meetings are
working fine. The user can click "remove from calendar" and the meeting is
removed from the user's Calendar.

The problem here is the old meetings/reoccuring meetings that were copied
over from another Calendar. For example, when a reoccuring meeting is
cancel, the user gets a email and clicks on "remove from calendar" button.
This suppose to remove the meeting from the calendar but not in this user's
case. Could it be that some permissions/linkings were removed with the
copying process?
 
B

Brian Tillman

wli2k2 said:
We are using Exchange 2000 and the client is Outlook 2003. New
meetings are working fine. The user can click "remove from calendar"
and the meeting is removed from the user's Calendar.

The problem here is the old meetings/reoccuring meetings that were
copied over from another Calendar. For example, when a reoccuring
meeting is cancel, the user gets a email and clicks on "remove from
calendar" button. This suppose to remove the meeting from the
calendar but not in this user's case. Could it be that some
permissions/linkings were removed with the copying process?

I don't think so. My admittedly limited experience with copying between
shared calendars seems to indicate that access to the item itself is
controlled by the folder permissions in which the item is placed, so it you
copy an item from some other calendar into one of yours, you will have owner
permission because individual items don't have permissions associated with
them. Perhaps an MVP can validate (or refulte) this impression.
 
Ad

Advertisements

G

Guest

Any suggestions to my problem?

Thanks.

Brian Tillman said:
I don't think so. My admittedly limited experience with copying between
shared calendars seems to indicate that access to the item itself is
controlled by the folder permissions in which the item is placed, so it you
copy an item from some other calendar into one of yours, you will have owner
permission because individual items don't have permissions associated with
them. Perhaps an MVP can validate (or refulte) this impression.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top