"Lost" profile???


M

Mikey

Once in a blue moon, I'll get a panicked call from a user, "All my
stuff is gone!" or something along those lines.
Upon further inspection, it appears that a new profile has been
created, that is in a folder called <username.domainname>. All their
"lost" stuff can be found in a folder just called <username>.
Copying contents from <username> to <username.domainname> usually
fixes it but this time as an extra added bonus, it seems that every
thing you do brings up an Office window, acting like it wants to re-
install Office!
Clicking cancel about 3 or 4 times usually gets around it, until the
user tries opening that same file again!
What causes this?
and
How can I keep it from happening to other users?
 
Ad

Advertisements

B

Bob I

Mikey said:
Once in a blue moon, I'll get a panicked call from a user, "All my
stuff is gone!" or something along those lines.
Upon further inspection, it appears that a new profile has been
created, that is in a folder called <username.domainname>. All their
"lost" stuff can be found in a folder just called <username>.
Copying contents from <username> to <username.domainname> usually
fixes it but this time as an extra added bonus, it seems that every
thing you do brings up an Office window, acting like it wants to re-
install Office!
Clicking cancel about 3 or 4 times usually gets around it, until the
user tries opening that same file again!
What causes this?
and
How can I keep it from happening to other users?

A corrupted profile? I'd hazard a guess that as the profile was being
saved/written to disk at shutdown the user killed power or some other
issue such that the profile couldn't be loaded. As to the "reinstall" of
Office, well since Office installs for each user, it will have to be
installed for the user again. To make it painless as possible, set the
installation to "run everything from the harddrive" and then you will
have the MSO folder available to do the "quick user setup".
 
M

Mikey

A corrupted profile? I'd hazard a guess that as the profile was being
saved/written to disk at shutdown the user killed power or some other
issue such that the profile couldn't be loaded. As to the "reinstall" of
Office, well since Office installs for each user, it will have to be
installed for the user again. To make it painless as possible, set the
installation to "run everything from the harddrive" and then you will
have the MSO folder available to do the "quick user setup".

I usually do choose "run everything from the harddrive".
If that was the case, shouldn't it automatically install, or would I
need to navigate to the MSO folder?
Where should it be?
(I'm not currently at office)
 
Ad

Advertisements

B

Bob I

Mikey said:
I usually do choose "run everything from the harddrive".
If that was the case, shouldn't it automatically install, or would I
need to navigate to the MSO folder?
Where should it be?
(I'm not currently at office)

Once it has been installed "for all users", when a "new user" attempts
to use one of the Office applications the first time, will trigger the
configuration routine. The Applications are already installed, BUT need
to be "configured" for each new user, NOT actually installed again.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top