Looking for PC Upgrade Recommendations :)

Reaction score
Hey,

Just joined the forum. I work in the Computer Games Industry and am looking for some advice on upgrading my home desktop gaming computer. It is mainly used for gaming. If anyone could give some advice on upgrades I would appreciate it. I guess I could spend about £400 on upgrades.

Here are my current specs:

Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 3
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200+, MMX, 3DNow (2 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
Memory: 3072MB RAM - Corsair 333MHz (DDR2 667) (all 3)
Graphics Card: Radeon X1950 CrossFire Edition 512MB
Sound Card: SoundMAX HD Audio

Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC.
Model: M2R32-MVP
Version: Rev 1.xx
North Bridge ATI Xpress 3200 (RD580) Revision 00
South Bridge ATI SB600 Revision 00
Cpu Socket Socket AM2 (940)
System Slots 6 PCI
Maximum Capacity 8192 MBytes
Maximum Memory Module Size 2048 MBytes
Memory Slots 4

Other Stuff: Crappy Dell 15' Monitor + Default Dell Plastic Speakers + Mouse - Razor DeathAdder + Standard Dell Multi Media Keyboard

___

Can't say I've had any trouble with it, but I like to be prepared.

Interested in good monitors/speakers/keyboards as well as a second priority to internal hardware. If you need anymore information just ask.

Thanks a lot.

- Chris

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
Are there any particular games you want to play but can't?

The first thing I would do to improve your gaming experience is get a new monitor! There's no point in having a good graphics card if you use a 15" monitor.

A 24" beast is around £200 : http://www.ebuyer.com/product/158381, but would last you for quite a while.
A 22" LCD is still pretty big, and and a huge improvement over your 15" monitor. It comes in at around £125 : http://www.ebuyer.com/product/143051 (I'd go for this one)