Laptop to TV connection


Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
Hello Again,

My Medion MD2837 Notebook has a CD/DVD player in it. I want to connect it to a Toshiba TV to view DVDs and also holiday snaps which I have stored on the laptop. I bought a Cable Kit but there are no instructions other than plugging the cables into the relevant sockets. When I did this, I got the sound, but sadly no picture. Do I need to download some software so the laptop can 'talk' to the TV? If so can you advise where I can get this from?

Thanks
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
The Belkin kit contained an S-video cable and 'Y' adapter audio cables. I used the 'Y' adapter audio cables. I'm not familiar with the jargon but I guess that's a composite lead, right?
 

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
20,153
Reaction score
1,657
Do you have your TV set switched to an AV channel? There's usually two of them.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2006
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
This is getting a bit technical for me as I don't quite understand what AV channel means however the TV is connected to a satellite channel. It also has a video plugged into it and a digibox. There are two scart sockets at the back of the TV and I had to pull one out to connect the cable.
 

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
20,153
Reaction score
1,657
Your TV - presumably analogue/terrestrial as you have a digibox connected - will have lots of channels for tuning TV stations into, somewhere between 40 & 200 probably. Just before Channel 01 there will be two AV (audio visual) channels, which probably correspond to the two Scart sockets.

It may also be worth looking into your graphic drivers' control panel to see if a TV Out signal has to be enabled. I don't know, just guessing, I've never actually connected a computer to a TV.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 4, 2003
Messages
7,563
Reaction score
596
Is the Laptop enabled for Dual output?

Usually if you press a function key and a button at the top with TV and monitor symbols on it that will switch the output signal from the Laptop.

Have a look at you manual as i'm sure each laptops has the switch keys on different formats to others. FOr example my switch key is on F6. Using Function and F6 I can change outputs
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads

AMD: Connect the TV and PC 1
TV or not TV 15
Get audio from Advent 6441 laptop to Samsung LCD TV 1
TV on PC 8
Recording TV 8
TV Help 3
TV Shows! 463
TV on PC 6

Top