IEEE 1394 (firewire) Help


Joined
Aug 12, 2004
Messages
2,011
Reaction score
0
Hey,

I have a firewire port on my case, and firewire on my mobo...

but i cannot wire the two up as they have differant markings on the pins to the mobo's manual..

------------------------
Motherboard Pin Plugs;

1: TPA+
2: TPA-
3: GND
4: GND
5: TPB+
6: TPB-
7: Power
8: Power
9: ------
10: GND

------------------------
Case Pins;

1: TPA +
2: TPA-
3: TPB +
4: TPB-
5: SHGND
6: VP
7: VG

------------------------

I understand the firs 4, but what about the other 3...

Does anyone know where they should go?

Thanks,

KGB
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 6, 2003
Messages
5,788
Reaction score
4
be careful KGB

i got this wrong on my internal usb and now the pins on the mobo are dysfunctional!

seek some professional advice my friend.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2003
Messages
5,788
Reaction score
4
good on ya

cuz if u didnt consult ud probably smell the smoke like i did! :(
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2004
Messages
2,011
Reaction score
0
what did you do wrong with the USB, they have 4 pins per USB port, 3 of them are in a block anyway

not much mistakes you can make... maybe it was a dud mobo
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2003
Messages
5,788
Reaction score
4
take a look at the pics i posted:
https://www.pcreview.co.uk/forums/thread-13900-1.php

what it was was there was two usb leads with 4 pins on them each
there was more than one way i could plug them in

my mobo usb was alrite untill then even my 4 additional usb thing dont work nemore it used to fit in the pci place but run off of the usb pins on the mobo
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 12, 2004
Messages
2,011
Reaction score
0
I tried, and couldnt find anything...

the "SHGND" will go in one of the "GND" sockets, and the VP & VG will be the power...

I have a 50% chance of getting the power ones in the right way, or maybe it dosent matter..

I cannot find anything, so iam just going to have to try
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2004
Messages
2,011
Reaction score
0
YA :mad:UC#@I:(G PIEC3 OF $(*£!
------------------------------------------

Firstly i would like to thank PSD99 for his expert advice, that i should wait until i know what i am doing.

Seccondly i would like to say i am a stupid git for not taking that advice

Thirdly i would like to ask if anyone wants a metal box for £500 - it has no use.

-----------------

Yup lads, you guessed it, i blew my brand new computer. it no longer works, it no longer does anything. the fans dont start, the light dosent come on.

thank s PSD for warning me, i dont know why i didnt take your advice. it was the worst mistake i have made.

i am back to using my crap laptop. I hate this laptop now, i will not be on PCR until monday.

Good Bye
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2003
Messages
5,788
Reaction score
4
your welcome for the advice, its unfortunate that u didnt take it all on board,

come on my friend FEAR NOT!

The damage is repairable, beleive me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

u are just suffering from that initial OHH NOOOO feeling.

well hope to type to u soon!
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2004
Messages
2,011
Reaction score
0
repairable? no
replaceable? yes

I wander if Aria will replace it...

or will i be forking out another £56.35?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 12, 2004
Messages
2,011
Reaction score
0
lol!

i just phoned their returns department and got told "i'm sorry our returns department are experiencing a high volums of customer calls"

that dosent sound good for Aria!
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2003
Messages
5,788
Reaction score
4
listen long shot

but if ur surre the mobos gone

how about visiting a local pc shop to see if they can repair it for u?

obviously a replacment 4 free would be ideal but what u gona tell them?
 

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
25,673
Reaction score
1,167
Sorry KGB I feel quiet ashamed ... I was constructing an answer for you last night, but it was 1am and I was quite tired. I went to bed. :(

... the bottom line I was going to make was. Don't try it and get a Fireware Card instead.

So sorry. :blush:
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2004
Messages
2,011
Reaction score
0
DOnt worry Mucks, what's done is done... It was my stupidity.

I have got off the phone with them, and they say up to 28 days before it will be replaced (if it was found to be faulty)

I am not impressed, Dabs has a 2 day return. i asked for a return from them. 2 days later my replacement part turned up, and a bag to put the old one in.

I cant wait a month!
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Feb 6, 2003
Messages
5,788
Reaction score
4
damn thats a shame

what u telling them then?

28 days is a v long time are they near u? go down there in person if tis near.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Aug 12, 2004
Messages
2,011
Reaction score
0
nope, they are in manchester i am in dorset.

I have ordereed a new one from them (because i had to get it from them, it is the only place i can find it)

and am going to send the dud one back to them, i have asked for a refund. i should have a new one on friday or monday, and HOPEFULLY they will give me money back...

KGB
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top