I gotta new camera

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
It’s a Canon G9. It’s a compact that rests on that line between compacts and DSLR’s and in my opinion fills the gap pretty good.

Here’s a link to Steve’s Digicams review: From ‘The Best Cameras’ section

Since 2002 I’ve had six compact digital cameras and I still think the first one I owned, a Canon 3.2 mp A40 Powershot, was the best, the Canon A60 a close second.

This made me think that lens quality is actually more important than the megapixel count.

I’ve sold my Nikon Coolpix S500 and I’m currently trying to sell my Nikon DSLR D40X outfit. James brought me over the Nikon D40X from the States in June of last year. It’s a damn fine camera but I figured I’m not a professional and it is rather bulky to carry around.

The Nikon S500 Coolpix, my last compact, was a great size but it’s pictures were not the same quality as the D40X, obviously.

My new camera, The Canon G9, almost manages to cope with the good points of both of those cameras. It has RAW image capability, which is rare in a compact.

Actually, it’s not all that compact, it’s not a pocket camera, but it is small compared to a DSLR.

It’s made of metal, has auto mode and can be fully manual. It has an ISO select mode knob on top of the body, which is great.

I haven’t used this camera a great deal yet, only got it on Thursday, and all the pix posted here were taken on auto. The greater majority were taken from my 5th floor patio/balcony, the last two were taken outside the Cutty Sark pub this evening.

They’re not all great, far from it, but I think the quality of the camera is apparent, 12.1 megapixel and 6 x real zoom.

I have weeks ahead studying this thing, hopefully it will be an interesting ride as I discover stuff.

It also takes movies. One hour of high quality video can be taken on this Sandisk Ultra III 4Gb memory card. Maybe I’ll get in one last Flops’ Travels before taking my Mercedes to it’s funeral.