How to assign application to computer

E

el

Hi all,
I am new to use group policy to deploy application to desktops or users.

The application I used to try was Office Compatibility Pack 2007. I had tried several different ways to assign it to several desktops. The common works I had done for the different tries were:
1.. Created a new Deploy Application OU under MyDomainName domain in Active Directory Users and Computers (ADUC)
2.. Created a new MS Office Compatibility Pack 2007 OU under Deploy Application OU
3.. Created a new assign group policy called Assign to computers in Properties window of MS Office Compatibility Pack 2007 OU and have the MSI file and other settings entered
I then use different ways to test the deployment. Each test was done on different computer:
1.. I moved a Computer object called TestMachine1 from Computers container to MS Office Compatibility Pack 2007 OU and restarted the test machine. The application was deployed correctly.
2.. In the Properties windows of Assign to computers group policy, I add TestMachine2 Computer object to the ACL and gave it Read and Apply Group Policy Allow permissions in Security tab. The application could not deployed to the test machine.
3.. I even tried to create a security group and put a test machine Computer object as a member of this security group and then gave the security group Read and Apply Group Policy Allow permission in Assign to computers group policy. The application could not be deployed to the test machine either.
The purpose of test 2 is to find a way to deploy multiple applications to a different desktops. The numbers of different combinations of applications and desktops do not allow us to have a single group policy applies to all desktops.

Could someone explain those failures and help me on the multiple deployments?

TIA,
el

F

Florian Frommherz [MVP]

Howdie!
Hi all,
[...]
I then use different ways to test the deployment. Each test was done on
different computer: