help - network file deletion


S

spacemarine99

hello,

i have a network storage question. lets say youre on Computer A, a mac
running os x, that connects to a network fileshare on Computer B, a
windows machine*. when youre on the mac and you delete some files from
the fileshare, what happens to 'em? do they get placed into the trash
on Computer B, or are they deleted immediately?

* this is for a friend having trouble at work, so i cant say which
version of windows the fileshare is on (yet).

im just trying to find out if accidentally deleted files are readily
recoverable, w/o the use of additional software.


thanks
 
Ad

Advertisements

D

Danny Sanders

Not sure w/ a Mac but that is what happens with two Windows computers.

I would think the same would happen whether it's a Windows computer doing
the deleting or a Mac.


hth
DDS
 
S

spacemarine99

which? thats its deleted perm or placed into the local trash?

thinking about it, when im at work (all windows) and delete things off
a server, i seem to recall noticing that they are *not* placed into my
local trash -- rather, files i delete off a server are lost to me on
this end.

matt
 
K

Kurt

hello,

i have a network storage question. lets say youre on Computer A, a mac
running os x, that connects to a network fileshare on Computer B, a
windows machine*. when youre on the mac and you delete some files from
the fileshare, what happens to 'em? do they get placed into the trash
on Computer B, or are they deleted immediately?

* this is for a friend having trouble at work, so i cant say which
version of windows the fileshare is on (yet).

im just trying to find out if accidentally deleted files are readily
recoverable, w/o the use of additional software.


thanks

They are deleted permanently.

....kurt
 
K

Kurt

hello,

i have a network storage question. lets say youre on Computer A, a mac
running os x, that connects to a network fileshare on Computer B, a
windows machine*. when youre on the mac and you delete some files from
the fileshare, what happens to 'em? do they get placed into the trash
on Computer B, or are they deleted immediately?

* this is for a friend having trouble at work, so i cant say which
version of windows the fileshare is on (yet).

im just trying to find out if accidentally deleted files are readily
recoverable, w/o the use of additional software.


thanks

FYI, you can set special permission levels (advanced button) where you
can explicitly deny deletion of files from a share, although the user
can still read, write, and modify. It's not good security against
someone who really wants to trash a file (they can just open it, delete
the contents, and save an empty version), but it will prevent them from
accidentally (or purposefully) dragging a file to the trash.

....kurt
 
Ad

Advertisements

B

Bob I

Files deleted across a network are deleted immediately. "recycle bins"
are only applied to Local files deleted through the "gui".
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top