Excel 2013 vlookup to different workbooks not working

W

wcgates

I just had Office 2013 installed on my work laptop and having an issue withthe vlookup formula when linking the formula to different workbooks.
I follow the function step, but when I select the different workbook, I getan 'invalid' statement and the workbook name/path is incomplete; even though I selected the file/sheet and range of that workbook...here is what the formula returns:

=VLOOKUP(B5,'[YARDI Mapper (BIBLE)-06-10-2013....,3,false)

I even tried filling in the rest of the path manually and the formula stillhas an issue and will not complete the returned value.

I have researched the 'Options' area in Excel and looked online for other items related to this and unable to find a helpful answer.

I have been using this formula for 10 years; I am doing the same thing as always, unless Microsoft decided to change the way we use this formula in 2013, I cannot get my links to work. I'm ready to go back to a previous version of Excel if this is not fixable...any suggestions or help is much appreciated!!!!

Thank you
William

C

Claus Busch

Hi,

Am Tue, 2 Jul 2013 09:05:26 -0700 (PDT) schrieb (e-mail address removed):
I even tried filling in the rest of the path manually and the formula still has an issue and will not complete the returned value.

open both workbooks. Write in the expected workbook =VLookup( B5,
and then choose "View" => Change Window => Select the other workbook and
select the range and complete the formula. You don't need the path. It
will be entered automatically when you close the referenced workbook.

Regards
Claus B.

W

William C Gates

Hi,

Am Tue, 2 Jul 2013 09:05:26 -0700 (PDT) schrieb

Regards

Claus B.

--

Win XP PRof SP2 / Vista Ultimate SP2

Office 2003 SP2 /2007 Ultimate SP2

That is how I've been doing it. I've selected the area that I want, and it truncates the file name, sheet and the area selected.

H

hikaru.light90

Hi,