Ethernet to wireless


Joined
Jun 18, 2009
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Looking for help here - I only know enough to dangerous


My Broadband router is in the attic connected to the master telephone socket, it has three cable outlet connections to upstairs rooms and which work fine.

I want to move the third PC to a more remote location in the house, too far to connect directly to the modem. I fear it will be too far to replace the exsisting router with a wireless one. Is there any device which I can connect to the exsisting third location to generate a wireless signal to the remote location. I assume a second wireless router in tandem won't work as it will require a ADSL input whereas it is only the ethernet connection which is available at this point. In other words I need an ethernet to wireless broadband signal device.

Does this make sense - can anyone recommend what that would be?
 
Ad

Advertisements

Abarbarian

Acruncher
Joined
Sep 30, 2005
Messages
10,644
Reaction score
1,014
Joined
Apr 19, 2008
Messages
4,081
Reaction score
1
Abarbarian said:
You could try using the Home Plug method which uses your existing household wiring circuit, this would not be a wireless network but would do the job possibly.

I'm sure there are even more solutions to your problem aswell.


As Ababrbarian has pointed out you could use the home plug optioon, this is probably the easiest way to do it, and quickest..
 

nivrip

Yorkshire Cruncher
Joined
Mar 21, 2007
Messages
9,063
Reaction score
1,695
You might be surprised how far a wireless signal will carry. I can pick up signals from my neighbour's house, which is not adjoining mine. A decent wireless router should cover your whole house (unless of course you live in a palace :D )
 
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
104
Reaction score
0
The only other way to do it would be with 2 wireless access points, basically get one and hook it up to your router and then connect the other one down where you want it and set it up to connect to the original, in effect extending the network. Cheers.
 

Adywebb

Growing old....
Moderator
Joined
Jan 1, 2005
Messages
5,450
Reaction score
11
Abarbarian said:
You could try using the Home Plug method which uses your existing household wiring circuit, this would not be a wireless network but would do the job possibly.
They do homeplugs that do wireless too :nod:
 
Ad

Advertisements

Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads

ethernet cable or wireless whats the best 9
Ethernet or not ethernet? 16
Ethernet bridging 8
Ethernet jumping 8
Ethernet question 2
Ethernet Card 5
Ethernet port 2
Ethernet Port on Laptop 3

Top