Epson Stylus photo RX520 all in one - scanner problem

Windows XP Discussion in 'Windows' started by graham_doh, Nov 12, 2006.

  1. graham_doh

    graham_doh

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I've got the above on a windows xp system and the scanner is not working.
    Also since installing this my digital camera is no longer recognised by the PC. I can download my pictures by putting the memory card into the Epson and doing it that way.

    When I click on the Epson Scan desktop icon it says epson scan cannot be started and to run the troubleshooting assistant. This doesn't work and it says it cannot detect a scanner.

    Am I going to have to re-install everything?

    please help.
     
    graham_doh, Nov 12, 2006
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. graham_doh

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2002
    Likes Received:
    914
    Did this work at any point or has it been like since you bought it?
     
    Ian, Nov 12, 2006
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. graham_doh

    floppybootstomp sugar 'n spikes Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Likes Received:
    1,563
    Location:
    Greenwich
    Unplug the power supply, pause five seconds and reconnect it. Then try again.

    If that doesn't work, try doing the same with the USB connection.

    It still no work, go to Epson website and download latest software for your model and install it.
     
    floppybootstomp, Nov 12, 2006
    #3
  4. graham_doh

    graham_doh

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    It has not worked since I first bought it and installed all the s/w about a month ago.
     
    graham_doh, Nov 13, 2006
    #4
  5. graham_doh

    graham_doh

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0

    Done all that, but it still doesn't work. I don't understand why the printer works, but not the scanner.

    When I look at "Control Panel - Installed Scanners / Cameras" the only thing showing is my webcam camera. I've tried to re-install my Canon powershot A70 and the all-in-one to no avail. How do I get the plug and play thing to think they are new devices again to re-install them? or is this not the way to go?
     
    graham_doh, Nov 14, 2006
    #5
  6. graham_doh

    MalcolmW

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2005
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Mid-Cheshire
    It's always worth a try.

    Start | Control Panel | System | Hardware | Device Mangler {8;-)) and with a right click to open the context menu uninstall all references to the all-in-one. That is even the parts that are working. Shut down the computer completely so you can cold boot when you are ready.

    On starting Windows should find the hardware anew so have the driver installation disk(s) under your hand.

    BTW - if this is a USB device it can be important as to when the power and the USB connections are made in the boot up & driver installation processes. So check the setting up instructions very carefully before doing anything.
     
    MalcolmW, Nov 14, 2006
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.