"do you want to save changes" when I close outlook


P

precast it

I have recently upgraded to office 2007, including outlook 2007. Now when I
add senders to the blocked sender list and then close outlook I am prompted
“do you want to save changesâ€. If I click “yes†I then get a message window
“the item cannot be saved because it was changed by another user or in
another windowâ€. Also asks “Do you want to make a copy in the default folder
for the itemâ€.
This only happens when senders are added to blocked sender list.
I would like to eliminate the prompt as the senders still seem to be added
to the list.
Previous verion of outlook was 2003. Using MS Exchange 2003
 
Ad

Advertisements

R

Roady [MVP]

This warning message is coming from an opened Outlook item window and not
from the main application itself.
Does this still happen when you close all open messages first before closing
Outlook?
 
P

precast it

Roady said:
This warning message is coming from an opened Outlook item window and not
from the main application itself.
Does this still happen when you close all open messages first before closing
Outlook?





.
Yes it still happens.
Example; throughout the day I will add various senders to blocked list. Then
at the end of day with all messages closed I will then close Outlook. It's
then that I start receiving "do you want to save changes" message for each
sender I send to blocked list.
 
B

BurtinH

Hi.

I too am experiencing this exact issue. It started only recently, which
makes me lean toward an update being the cause. It is *very* annoying, and it
slows my interactions with my computer down. I have not found an answer
elsewhere, so I really am hoping that this froum will provide that answer.

Burtin
 
D

DC

I have several users experiencing this issue also wondering if anyone has
found a fix?
 
P

precast it

I guess there are very few with this problem or we would have gotten some
answers by now.
 
Ad

Advertisements

J

Johannes Franke

Hope it's not too late but I can confirm that this problem exists. I have created a CTI application that deals a lot with items in Outlook. Even if all items are closed and only the Outlook main window is still open, closing the application will trigger the annoying "Do you want to save changes?" dialog. No idea what the question is about anyway, it does not seem to make any difference whether I choose yes or no. More and more customers are complaining about this as lots of them have upgraded to Outlook 2007 and 2010. It definitely started with Outlook 2007 but has grown far worse by now.
The fun part is that if the CTI application is quit before quitting Outlook, said question does not appear at all! The architecture of my CTI app is such that the application attaches to Outlook at runtime, using GetObject(). The user can shut it down anytime while Outlook continues to run but the usual way of is that Outlook is quit by the user and my app detects that, and then goes into a kind of "standby" mode, waiting for Outlook to reappear. The same should happen if the system is shut down. The message box of course creates a lot of confusion and, even worse, prevents the system from shutting down properly. As nobody knows what is lost when the application is eventually terminated by Windows, people lose confidence in both products.

Maybe the use of Outlook's COM interface or even MAPI access could cause this behaviour, but I don't know where I could fix anything. Sure the application is not keeping any changed items open unless they are still visible on the screen.

Any help is appreciated. Thank you all!

Greetings,
Joe
I have recently upgraded to office 2007, including outlook 2007. Now when I
add senders to the blocked sender list and then close outlook I am prompted
???do you want to save changes???. If I click ???yes??? I then get a message window
???the item cannot be saved because it was changed by another user or in
another window???. Also asks ???Do you want to make a copy in the default folder
for the item???.
This only happens when senders are added to blocked sender list.
I would like to eliminate the prompt as the senders still seem to be added
to the list.
Previous verion of outlook was 2003. Using MS Exchange 2003
On Tuesday, January 19, 2010 5:07 PM Roady [MVP] wrote:
This warning message is coming from an opened Outlook item window and not
from the main application itself.
Does this still happen when you close all open messages first before closing
Outlook?
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2012
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
I have been using 2007 since 2007 and I never had problems with Outlook asking "do you want to save changes" until my computer did an automatic update. Now I am plagued with the question. It can be asked 1 to 4 times in a row when trying to leave Outlook.
It seems as if we are swapping ignorance. Does no one read this forum who is in the know? I certainly am not about an answer to this particular problem.:mad:
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jul 25, 2014
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
I just want to add my confirmation, that I too have this problem for the first time and I am using Outlook 2010. I have been using Outlook since it was a DOS application and have never seen this issue until very recently. I too assume that it is due to an update of some kind. It is horribly annoying and it makes closing Outlook a real pain. This IS NOT a random problem affecting only a few users.
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads


Top