Delete folders in Documents and Settings.


P

PVR

Dumb questions.

I use WinXP/2. In "Documents and Settings" (Windows Explorer, My
Computer/Local Disk/...) there are several folders such as "All Users",
"Default User", "Owner", "Peter" which appear to contain shortcuts to other
folders or files.

Question. If I delete one of these folders do I loose the references to the
files or the actual files? If I loose a reference is it easy to recover it
in order to place it in a more convenient folder?

Peter.
 
Ad

Advertisements

M

Malke

PVR said:
Dumb questions.

I use WinXP/2. In "Documents and Settings" (Windows Explorer, My
Computer/Local Disk/...) there are several folders such as "All Users",
"Default User", "Owner", "Peter" which appear to contain shortcuts to other
folders or files.

Question. If I delete one of these folders do I loose the references to the
files or the actual files? If I loose a reference is it easy to recover it
in order to place it in a more convenient folder?
They aren't dumb questions, Peter. You're being smart asking before you
delete! You actually don't want to delete those folders. Here's some
general information about what you're seeing:

Explanation of user account structure in XP:

XP is a multi-user operating system, no matter if only one person is
using it. In all multi-user operating systems - NT, Win2k, XP, Unix,
Linux, Mac OSX - there is the one built-in account that is "god" on the
system. In Windows terminology, that is "Administrator". In the *nix
world, it is "root". This is a necessary account and is not normally
used in everyday work. You cannot delete the built-in Administrator
account nor would you ever want to.

My Computer - represents your entire computer, showing drives and shared
folders. Shared Folders are folders where you can put files you wish to
share with other users on the system. You don't need to use these
folders if you don't want to, but leave them alone!

[some name] C:\ - your first hard drive, usually the system drive.

Document and Settings - The "container" for all user settings. Each user
will have [username] Documents, Music, Videos, My Pictures.

Administrator - Built-in account - Leave alone! Do not use! Do not worry
about it!

All Users - Section where items common to all users go. In a multi-user
operating system, users have separate accounts. This is the place where
if you want to share files with all the other users on the system you
would put those files. You don't ever have to use those folders but they
need to be there. This is where programs you install that are meant to
be installed for all users put settings. All the "Shared Documents" type
of folders you see at the root of C:\ are shortcuts to the shared
folders in here. Leave them alone!

Default Users - This is the template from which new user accounts are
made. You will never put anything in any of those folders but they are
needed to create new users. In Linux we use "skel" ("skeleton" - get
it?). In Windows, the less-colorful term "Default User" is used. Leave
it alone!

[OEM] Administrator or Owner - This is the generic user created by the
OEM when installing the operating system. After all, the OEM doesn't
know who is going to buy the computer. If you aren't using this OEM user
account, you can delete it from the User Accounts applet in Control
Panel. It is not the same account as "Administrator".

My Network Places - This is a graphical representation of other
computers on the network and any shared network resources. If you don't
have other computers, you can remove the Network Places icon from the
Desktop using the Control Panel Display>Desktop>Customize Desktop
function. Leave the folder alone!

HTH and if you have more questions, don't hesitate to ask them.


Malke
 
P

PVR

Many thanks. Invaluable advice (for me).I guess I will just have to live
with it.

Peter.

Malke said:
PVR said:
Dumb questions.

I use WinXP/2. In "Documents and Settings" (Windows Explorer, My
Computer/Local Disk/...) there are several folders such as "All Users",
"Default User", "Owner", "Peter" which appear to contain shortcuts to
other folders or files.

Question. If I delete one of these folders do I loose the references to
the files or the actual files? If I loose a reference is it easy to
recover it in order to place it in a more convenient folder?
They aren't dumb questions, Peter. You're being smart asking before you
delete! You actually don't want to delete those folders. Here's some
general information about what you're seeing:

Explanation of user account structure in XP:

XP is a multi-user operating system, no matter if only one person is using
it. In all multi-user operating systems - NT, Win2k, XP, Unix, Linux, Mac
OSX - there is the one built-in account that is "god" on the system. In
Windows terminology, that is "Administrator". In the *nix world, it is
"root". This is a necessary account and is not normally
used in everyday work. You cannot delete the built-in Administrator
account nor would you ever want to.

My Computer - represents your entire computer, showing drives and shared
folders. Shared Folders are folders where you can put files you wish to
share with other users on the system. You don't need to use these folders
if you don't want to, but leave them alone!

[some name] C:\ - your first hard drive, usually the system drive.

Document and Settings - The "container" for all user settings. Each user
will have [username] Documents, Music, Videos, My Pictures.

Administrator - Built-in account - Leave alone! Do not use! Do not worry
about it!

All Users - Section where items common to all users go. In a multi-user
operating system, users have separate accounts. This is the place where if
you want to share files with all the other users on the system you would
put those files. You don't ever have to use those folders but they need to
be there. This is where programs you install that are meant to be
installed for all users put settings. All the "Shared Documents" type of
folders you see at the root of C:\ are shortcuts to the shared folders in
here. Leave them alone!

Default Users - This is the template from which new user accounts are
made. You will never put anything in any of those folders but they are
needed to create new users. In Linux we use "skel" ("skeleton" - get it?).
In Windows, the less-colorful term "Default User" is used. Leave it alone!

[OEM] Administrator or Owner - This is the generic user created by the OEM
when installing the operating system. After all, the OEM doesn't know who
is going to buy the computer. If you aren't using this OEM user account,
you can delete it from the User Accounts applet in Control Panel. It is
not the same account as "Administrator".

My Network Places - This is a graphical representation of other computers
on the network and any shared network resources. If you don't have other
computers, you can remove the Network Places icon from the Desktop using
the Control Panel Display>Desktop>Customize Desktop function. Leave the
folder alone!

HTH and if you have more questions, don't hesitate to ask them.


Malke
--
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic!"
MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User
 
M

Malke

PVR said:
Many thanks. Invaluable advice (for me).I guess I will just have to live
with it.
Glad to have been of service. Sorry it wasn't what you wanted to hear. :)


Malke
 
M

mikeyhsd

if your purpose in deleting is to free up disk space.
a disk cleanup operation would be more advantageous. be sure and select the extra options to remove all but the latest restore point.

as well as clearing the IE cache and History files.
you do not really want to disturb any of these system files. they are needed.



(e-mail address removed)



Dumb questions.

I use WinXP/2. In "Documents and Settings" (Windows Explorer, My
Computer/Local Disk/...) there are several folders such as "All Users",
"Default User", "Owner", "Peter" which appear to contain shortcuts to other
folders or files.

Question. If I delete one of these folders do I loose the references to the
files or the actual files? If I loose a reference is it easy to recover it
in order to place it in a more convenient folder?

Peter.
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Jan 28, 2011
Messages
9
Reaction score
0
Can i delete this folder?
C:\Documents and Settings\LocalService
C:\Documents and Settings\NetworkService
thank for help.
 
Ad

Advertisements


Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top