Crazylegs Tropical fish tank log (Ongoing)

crazylegs

Member Extraordinaire
Reaction score
I was asked if I was going to post some pics up on my birthday thread when I mentioned I had bought a new tropical fish tank for my birthday with the proceeds of my birthday money, well I thought I would do a tank log aswell as posting some pics..

The tank isn't massive or anything its a 40 litre tank and was a compromise between having a tank and not having one as I just don't have room for any tank that would be any larger, This one caught my eye in the tropical fish store because of its dimensions and I knew I could tuck it out of the way, yet still enjoy it..
nod.gif

I'm no newbie when it comes to fishkeeping as I kept tropicals for 7 years almost 20 years ago, in that time I kept almost every type of tropical fish from African rift valley Cichlids to South American Cichlids and quite a few oddball fish in between to keep my interest..

This log is of setting the tank up and getting it cycled for tropical fish..

So onto starting the process I added the substrate which was very small pea gravel then added the rocks to the aquarium, these were Lava rock, Coral stone and spiderweb stone which are very colourful under the right lighting conditions..The aquarium heater was then fixed into place as was the powerhead filter, the lighting unit was in place and consisted of a T3 and ultraviolet unit together (keeps fish healthy)..

Then it was just a case of filling the aquarium up with water and heating it..
This all went really well and took no more than an hour and a half to complete..I really enjoyed it and it brought back memories from years ago

I must explain the cycling procedure of a tropical fish tank..

The Fishless Cycle where Ammonia solution is added to start the cycle..
The main job of cycling a tank is to remove Ammonia and Nitrite from the tank..