Cisco Systems VPN client software

Reaction score
I am not sure if this is in the right section and if it is sorry. I don't know if anyone has heard of this programme but my school now gives me access to my school files from home but to do this I need to connect via the VPN client software but mine never connects. I know it is working cos all me friends are using it so i think it is the way i connect to the internet which is via a router. I don't know if the firewall built-in the router is stopping it but I don't know how to allow it to work.

If anyone has any ideas it would be great??

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
Were you given any settings to get VPN working? I've heard of this before, but I've never used it before. It is possible that your router/firewall could block access to a remote network, but someone better informed may be able to help more than I can :)

Reaction score
What connection are you running ?? What routing equipment are you using (if any)...

The Cisco VPN client uses IPSec over L2TP (layer two tunnelling protocol).

If your router/connection/firewall doesn't support IP/VPN passthrough (specifically IPSec/L2TP), then the connection to your school will fail.

The client should keep a log file somewhere, if you can find it, paste it into a post. It's easier to see where the issue is with a log. Most likely, you are starting the crypt key exchange but the encrypted traffic isn't coming back through because it's blocked by the router not being configured to accept the inbound encrypted segment of the key exchange. Without that, the VPN tunnel can't be created.

Reaction score
I do think it is the router in the firewall. It is only a couple of mouths of old now so I would think I would be able to connect to it but my brother who manages the router says he needs a port number to let the firewall not block it. Someone at my school is trying to find out but if any of you guys know it would be great.