Chainsaws Kill!

Reaction score
I did not want to hijack Rush's thread so decided to post this.

Sorry if it goes on a bit, but safety with chainsaws is something even I do not joke about. I do joke about a lot on this site, but this is one issue I’m going to be serious on & always will be.

I'm a trained chainsaw operator with over 15 years of forestry experience behind me. But when EVER I use a chainsaw I wear my safety gear of: Chainsaw protection trousers, chainsaw boots, chainsaw mitts & a forestry hard hat-ear defenders-face visor, even if just cutting one bit of wood.

Chainsaws kill, it's simple as that!

After the storms of 87 a local man went to B&Q and bought a chainsaw, all he got for protection was a pair of goggles & a pair of gloves, he goes home fuels up the saw and climbs a ladder to start cutting a branch down 9 feet up. A bit later his wife comes out to find saw sticking in the ground and what looks like a football by it.

Sadly it was not a football but the mans head, he slipped and cut his own head off.

I'm sorry if this upsets some of you, I never would intentionally go about upsetting anyone on this site it’s just the one thing that gets me on my soapbox.
Cheers for listening & reading
Murdoch

Reaction score
That is fair comment, and the safety factor should be adhered to.....

Adywebb

Growing old....
Reaction score
Good advice indeed Murdoch :thumb:

If I remember correctly - wasn't there also a case fairly recently where a man up a ladder using a chainsaw with his wife standing below, slipped and killed her?

Reaction score
Sadly yes, The Health & Safety Executive publishes a yearly list of these accidents with Chainsaws, its not nice reading. When at college about 13 years ago one lecturer showed us the real pictures of what these injuries can do from photos take in A&E. All his advice & training he gave from then on was listened to by everyone!

Reaction score
Cheers Murdoch, a very sobering thought on dangerous accidents with chainsaws