CCleaner Problem


nivrip

Yorkshire Cruncher
Joined
Mar 21, 2007
Messages
9,748
Reaction score
1,900
Is it just me?

CCleaner.JPG





This has been happening a lot recently. The above is the result of a cleaning session but before the cleaning took place it stated that there was 168MB to be removed and what did I get? - 8.86MB removed.

All the MS Edge and IE stuff has been skipped despite them all being ticked in the list on the left. :confused: I uninstalled CCleaner even though it was the latest version and did a fresh download from File Hippo but I still get the same result.

So, is anyone else having the same problem? And, does anyone know how to resolve this?
 
Ad

Advertisements

V_R

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Moderator
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
13,525
Reaction score
1,848
That usually means that it can't clean due to the program being open, or rather it thinking they are open.

Got anything that might have IE/Edge running within it? What AV?
 

nivrip

Yorkshire Cruncher
Joined
Mar 21, 2007
Messages
9,748
Reaction score
1,900
As far as I'm aware nothing running but I always get a message saying
"Internet Explorer needs to be closed to clean the Cookies" so maybe there is something running. I will look a little further.

I use Kaspersky AV.
 

nivrip

Yorkshire Cruncher
Joined
Mar 21, 2007
Messages
9,748
Reaction score
1,900
Hmm.... no further forward here. The problem seemed to follow installing of the latest version of CC so I uninstalled and then reinstalled the older version but things are the same.

With every operation I am told that IE needs closing and do I want CC to close it so I click "Yes" but it seems that it will not close. So something must be running constantly even when IE is not in use. How would I determine what is running?
 

nivrip

Yorkshire Cruncher
Joined
Mar 21, 2007
Messages
9,748
Reaction score
1,900
Ahah ! Think I might have sorted this. I finally found a Piriform (makers of CC) Forum and it seems this is a common problem. The answer is to go into Options and untick Enable System Monitoring. Then all is well and cleaning is restored. :)
 
Ad

Advertisements

V_R

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Moderator
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
13,525
Reaction score
1,848
Ah, I've never used the system monitoring tbh, good work finding the culprit!
 
Ad

Advertisements

nivrip

Yorkshire Cruncher
Joined
Mar 21, 2007
Messages
9,748
Reaction score
1,900
Yeah, it seems that several other things have speeded up a bit too. :)
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top