Can you hook up a Virgin Media+ box to a PC monitor?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Reefsmoka, Jun 9, 2012.

  1. Reefsmoka

    Reefsmoka Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    Is it possible to hook up a Virgin Media+ box to a PC monitor and also have the monitor plugged into the PC? I was thinking of hooking the Virgin Media+ box via hdmi and using dvi to the graphics card so I wouldn't have to keep connecting and disconnecting cables. Obviously I wouldn't be watching TV and using the PC at the same time, it would be one or the other. It sounds do-able, does anyone have any 1st hand experience of this or something similar.
     
    Reefsmoka, Jun 9, 2012
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Reefsmoka

    Silverhazesurfer Master of Logic

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Likes Received:
    40
    My HannSpree monitors have the ability to switch from input to input (DVI, VGA, HDMI). It is just a manual switch for the input I choose. I do not know many monitors that don't allow a switch from each input unless they are really cheap.
     
    Silverhazesurfer, Jun 10, 2012
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Reefsmoka

    V_R ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Likes Received:
    1,076
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    As SHS said, its certainly doable, but depends on your setup. Worst case you could get some kind of HDMI Switcher box?
     
    V_R, Jun 10, 2012
    #3
  4. Reefsmoka

    Reefsmoka Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    Eyeing up an Asus monitor, read some reviews and there meant to be great value for money.
     
    Reefsmoka, Jun 10, 2012
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. psd99

    Which DVD MEDIA Do You Use?

    psd99, Dec 8, 2004, in forum: Hardware
    Replies:
    39
    Views:
    2,737
    psd99
    Dec 11, 2004
  2. Quadophile
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    461
    Becky
    Oct 13, 2005
  3. mojouk
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    1,108
    muckshifter
    Mar 7, 2007
  4. murdoch

    I'm a Virgin

    murdoch, Apr 13, 2007, in forum: Hardware
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    515
    murdoch
    Apr 13, 2007
  5. netrate
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,452
    netrate
    Aug 22, 2007
  6. psd99
    Replies:
    17
    Views:
    845
    itsme
    Mar 15, 2008
  7. BourneSupreme

    surfing wireless with Virgin?

    BourneSupreme, Apr 27, 2008, in forum: Hardware
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    556
    Frodo
    May 2, 2008
  8. BourneSupreme

    What router to buy for virgin broadband

    BourneSupreme, Dec 31, 2009, in forum: Hardware
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    780
    TriplexDread
    Dec 31, 2009
Loading...