bios start up screen hang

Reaction score
hi
newbie here and have a problem.

i installed vista x64 on Hd and all was fine but couldnt get online,so decided to partion off another section of my drive 2 install xp64 so could get the router working as wouldnt work at all with vista x64.
but after 2 failed instalations everytime i boot pc it hangs at bios start up screen.
it checks HD then DVD then just hangs, if i press F2 2 get into bios it says entering setup,but still hangs.
cleared cmos,that didnt work, so thought i try a spare Hd lying around and thats fine installed win xp64,but i need to access my old hard drive 2 get important documents off there, the trouble is if i connect up the other HD(one with vista on) as a slave to the other HD it still hangs at bios start up screen

any ideas or how can i get the docs on the old HD(wiv vista on) that i partitioned off as back up

amd athlon xp4200
asrock 939 sata2 mobo
ati radeon x800xl agp card
1gb pc3200 geil ram
160gb seagate HD(now defunked with vista on and my back ups,lol)
40gb maxtor
windo xp64

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score
ouch ...

You went about it at the wrong angle ... if you want to 'dual-boot' you must first install the older OS first, then the newer version.

XP & Vista differ in their Boot process, just to add more confusion ... in't MS great. ;)

OK, if you have a "proper" Vista DVD then you should be able to "repair" the Vista install.

http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/tutorial148.html

... just make sure you use English UK, as we know English US does not exist. :D

What version of Vista is this?

oh, welcome to the forums. :wave:

user.gif

Reaction score
hi
cheers 4 welcome.
tis a dell version i borrowed off a mate 2 try and c if i liked it or not, well deffo not now.
but cant get past the start up screen it wont load any cd either. as said all i get is checks the hard drive then checks cd then hangs.