Being electrocuted by my telly - Stumped

Reaction score
Right then folks. Who here knows about electrics?

To cut a long story short, our 46" Samsung telly in the kitchen, of 2012 vintage makes my hand go all tingly when I touch the bezel or the stand (both are metal). Not a massive shock or anything like that, but enough to make you not want to keep your hand there for any length of time. Enough for my Mrs to pull her hand away and shake it.

Not good, I thought. Especially with a kid in the house, so called Curry's who in turn sent out Samsung to our house to check it over.

Couldn't find anything wrong with it, the guy couldn't feel what we felt, and prodded it with a multimeter and did checks and didn't;t register anything.

This evening I go to move it, and get the same sensation.

I get my multimeter out and (I'm not an expert - not sure I'm using it right) get a consistent reading of around 0.5v AC. Doesn't sound like much, but I'm not sure it's right all the same? The Samsung repair chap said that it wasn't possible for any voltage to leak through into the stand or bezel as it's all fully insulated by plastic.

I'm stumped. Thoughts? Stupid question, but could the metal parts be picking up electric from anywhere else?

IMG_8303.jpg

Reaction score
...Update.

I've narrowed it down to coming through the HDMI cable from my Sky Box.

Unplug either the HDMI cable or Power Lead from the Sky Box and the voltage goes away.

But how is it getting from the HDMI port into the (insulated) bezel and stand?!

Reaction score
Hiya Chris, Try touching black probe to an earth and then red to plastic. The plastic may have been sprayed with a metallised paint and maybe conducting slightly. HDMI only carries about 5v, not sure on it's current but if its causing a problem try using a different hdmi port and first. Chances are it is just ESD which would suggest maybe a bad earth?

Reaction score
Just found this