Basic to Dynamic HD's


J

Jorge

I have a Windows 2000 Server with 2 hard drives. Drive 0
is a basic disk and Drive 1 is dynamic disks. All are
NTFS formatted. I want to create a mirror set of drive 0,
but I must to upgrade drive 0 to Dynamic.
Drive 0 contains the operating system and many installed
programs. It has three partitions: 39MB FAT (EISA
configuration), "C" - 4 GB (NTFS), "E" - 13 GB (NTFS).
When I tried with the conversion, the next message
appears: "Fylesystem on any of the disk to be upgrade will
be force dismounted. Do you want to continue?". I
understand that partition "C" will be dismounted.
My question is, will I lose all of my data, and the
operating system, if I upgrade drive 0 from Basic to
Dynamic?
 
Ad

Advertisements

R

Robert Mitchell [MSFT]

Hello Jorge,

No, your data will not be overwritten. Now if you attempt to convert from
dynamic back to basic, then yes the data will be lost. But in that case,
Windows will give you a warning before you do it.

--
Robert Mitchell
Windows NT4&2000 MCSE
Microsoft Enterprise Support

Search our Knowledge Base at http://support.microsoft.com/directory
Visit the Windows 2000 Homepage at
http://www.microsoft.com/windows2000/default.asp
See the Windows NT Homepage at http://www.microsoft.com/ntserver/

NOTE: Please reply to the newsgroup and not directly to me. This allows
others to add to and benefit from these threads and also helps to ensure a
more timely response. Thank you!
This posting is provided "AS IS" without warranty either expressed or
implied, including, but not limited to, the implied warranties of
merchantability or fitness for a particular purpose.
The views and opinions expressed in this newsgroup posting are mine and do
not necessarily express or reflect the views and / or opinions of Microsoft.
 
G

Guest

Thanks Robert,
I suppose that partitions in HD 0: EISA, "C" and "E" will
be dismounted.
After the reset, will I see the same partitions or these
will be as unallocated ?

Regards,
Jorge.
 
Ad

Advertisements

D

Deborah Jones

You will see the same partitions. When you convert a system or boot disk to
dynamic, you must reboot the machine twice. Reboot immediately when prompted
without performing any operation before the reboot.

--
Please do not send e-mail directly to this alias. This alias is for
newsgroup purposes only.

This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
Use of included script samples are subject to the terms specified at
http://www.microsoft.com/info/cpyright.htm
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top