Windows XP Wireless Networking w/WXP Pro

Reaction score
Hello,

A newbie here. I just changed careers into the IT Admin. field and am currently having issues with wirelessly connecting to my company laptop to my domain server. I can dynamically set all addresses and get internet and email access however no access to my main domain server with all the company files on them. I can however connect via Ethernet with the following info:

IP: 10.10.0.168
Sub: 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway: 10.10.0.1
DNS: 10.10.0.127

Any suggestions?

Mike

Reaction score
Are you trying to connect to your company domain out of the office? If you are, there may be VPN access in place that you can use. Typically you will need a VPN client installed on your laptop and a securID token (key FOB) to connect to the VPN server.

Deac0nfr0st

Reaction score
No Deac0nfr0st. We do of course have a VPN set up for remote access however in this case I am definitely inside the office. I am physically sitting right next to the servers themselves. We have two linksys wireless routers if that helps. It will not allow me to remap any network directories.

Reaction score
Found the solution. I needed to access the other lynksys router and also reset the encryption key. Once that was done I had full access to all servers. Thanks for the help.

Reaction score
Hello Deac0nfr0st,

Now I am having the issue that you have previously presented. I can log on to the servers, use either remote desktop or VNC viewer to remotely control my server but cannot do it from home. I am using the correct password, and tried to log on to the company VPN with no success. The old IT person was using Cisco VPN Client, VNC viewer and remote desktop. I have tried all three with no success from home. I could however access my home computer wirelessly. Any suggestions? Thanks. Michael

Reaction score