PC Review


New Content

Welcome to PC Review, you appear to be a new user to the site (if you are not, please log in on the right). If you wish to participate in our forums, or some of the other member features, please register as a member - this is free and takes less than a minute.

Latest Forum Posts:

Electric Ants
WCG Stats Thursday 24 July 2014
Small form factor computer
The Useless Box Kit
Any gardeners here?
 
spacer
Latest Articles
Asus Xonar DGX 5.1

Asus Xonar DGX 5.1
How much RAM do I really need for gaming

How much RAM do I really need for gaming
 


News

Tt eSports Poseidon Z Mechanical Keyboard

Posted by Becky on 23rd Jul 2014 - 1 Comments

Techware Labs have been taking a look at the Tt eSports Poseidon Z Mechanical Keyboard - here's a snippet from their review:

Quote:
"The rise in popularity of mechanical keyboards is prompting many big name manufacturers to come out with their own design. Tt eSports, Thermaltake’s elite branding for competitive gamer gear, responded with the Illuminated Poseidon Z mechanical gaming keyboard. If you are reading this, you already decided you want a mechanical keyboard with blue switches and are in the process of choosing what keyboard to get. Perhaps notice that Tt eSports Poseidon Z is very well priced and want to know more about it. I assume you responded yes to the above statements and the want to know if Tt eSports illuminated Poseidon Z Mechanical Gaming Keyboard is right for you."

You can read more here.

 

Rosewill Capstone Modular 1000 W

Posted by Becky on 21st Jul 2014 - 0 Comments

Tech Power Up have had the Rosewill Capstone Modular 1000 W on their test bench - here's a snippet from their review:

Quote:
"Today’s menu consists of Rosewill’s flagship Capstone modular series unit with 1 kW capacity and 80 Plus Gold-certified efficiency. The unit is based on an older Super Flower platform, which, however, still delivers good performance for today's standards, and, most importantly, allows Rosewill to sell this unit for a very good price. Thanks to its six PCIe connectors, the large Capstone unit will easily power a three-way SLI or Crossfire system, and its resilience to high operating temperatures over prolonged periods of time and with the full load (up to 50 °C) proves that quality components are used in its construction. Rosewill obviously also has a lot of faith in the platform since they guarantee it to operate properly for seven years, providing a one-to-one replacement policy should anything go wrong. But enough with the long prologue, lets check on the unit's specifications."

Read more here.

 

ThermalTake Level 10 M Hybrid Mouse

Posted by Becky on 18th Jul 2014 - 1 Comments

Pure Overclock have reviewed the rather unique looking ThermalTake Level 10 M Hybrid Mouse - here's a snippet:

Quote:
"There are a lot of different features we look at when purchasing peripherals, especially when it comes to our mouse for gaming. Who wants a heavy, uncomfortable mouse that may jump around while we’re trying to make the next kill? Introducing the next ThermalTake mouse capable of operating in wired or wireless mode. It has a sleek design and is capable of being reshaped to your personal comfort level. ThermalTake claims that gamers are guaranteed to find that special spot to rest comfortably spending long hours gaming. Let’s take it for a spin and see if this holds true."

MY EYES! Read more here.

 

Linksys AC1200 MAX Wi-Fi Range Extender (RE6500)

Posted by Becky on 17th Jul 2014 - 0 Comments

Hardware Heaven have been taking a look at the Linksys AC1200 MAX Wi-Fi Range Extender - here's a snippet from their article:

Quote:
"A couple of months ago we reviewed a new router from Linksys (WRT1900AC). With styling based on one of their classic routers but specs to compete at the high end of the market. After some time with that router we found it to be the best we had tested to date. Performance was fantastic and the user interface we so much better than the competition.

Today Linksys launch their latest high end device, the AC1200 Max range extender which compliments their routers by boosting our Wi-Fi signal towards the edge of the routers range. We have one for review, so let’s find out if it shares the same easy setup and good performance as their latest routers."

Read more here.

 

AOC G2460PG G-Sync 144Hz 1ms Gaming Monitor

Posted by Becky on 16th Jul 2014 - 5 Comments

Kit Guru have reviewed the AOC G2460PG G-Sync 144Hz 1ms Gaming Monitor - here's an excerpt:

Quote:
"On July 4th we reviewed the latest G-SYNC monitor from ASUS, the 1440p ROG Swift PG278Q 144hz. It was undoubtedly one of the best monitors we have reviewed in the last year. However at £719.99, it will prove too expensive for the majority of the enthusiast audience. Today’s review product, the 24 inch 1080p AOC G2460PG G-Sync 144Hz will be more palatable for many – priced at less than 50% of the ASUS screen, at £347.99 inc vat. Is it worth the money?

One of the major selling points of this new AOC screen is the support for Nvidia’s G-SYNC technology. G-SYNC has been designed to eliminate screen tearing – an unpleasant artifact that can rear its ugly head from time to time. We have covered this technology before in many of our news posts, but we will discuss it again briefly before delving into our main review."

Read their full review here.

 

Synology DS415Play 4-Bay NAS

Posted by Becky on 15th Jul 2014 - 3 Comments

eTeknix have reviewed the Synology DS415Play 4-Bay NAS (network attached storage) - here's a snippet:

Quote:
"In the early stages of this year we saw the arrival of Synology’s DS214Play – a 2-bay system which offers users the ability to stream media connect across the network to everything, including mobile devices thanks to its onboard transcoding capabilities from Intel’s latest Evansport processor. Little did Synology know, this unit has turned out to be one of their most popular 2-bay systems to hit the shelves this year and as users embraced the transcoding power, the demand for a bigger and better system soon followed.

Aside from the obvious extension to four bays, the DS415Play features the same Intel Evansport 1.6GHz CPU, featuring Floating-Point Units, giving the system its popular ability to transcode media on the fly for streaming across to mobile devices as well as processing image thumbnails much faster than that of a typical SoC based system.

Connectivity wise we find an extra two USB2.0 ports on the rear of the system in place of the eSATA port that the 215 features. On paper this means that we should expect to see at least the same levels of performance as on of this years top-selling 2-bay systems, with an easy, too-free setup and a user interface that I consider to be one of the most user-friendly solutions on the market today."

You can read their full review here.

 

AMD Athlon 5350 and Gigabyte GA-AM1M-S2H

Posted by Becky on 14th Jul 2014 - 1 Comments

Benchmark Reviews have been taking a look at the AMD Athlon 5350 CPU together with the Gigabyte GA-AM1M-S2H motherboard:

Quote:
"If you haven’t heard, desktop computing is losing serious ground to other, increasingly affordable computing solutions, including notebooks, chromebooks, and tablets. Desktops are still around. You probably have one at home and you probably use one at work. With mobile gaming on the rise and so many productivity features being streamlined for mobile platforms, the need for a powerful desktop computer because your other devices can’t handle the load is declining. According to AMD, entry level computing options make up the majority of the market. In this review, Benchmark Reviews takes a look at the AMD Athlon 5350 Kabini desktop processor paired with the Gigabyte GA-AM1M-S2H mATX motherboard and 4GB of DDR3 1600MHz AMD Radeon Series RAM."

Read more here.

 

SanDisk Extreme PRO Series SSD

Posted by Becky on 11th Jul 2014 - 0 Comments

Legit Reviews have been taking a look at the SanDisk Extreme PRO Series SSD - here's a snippet from their review:

Quote:
"The new SanDisk Extreme Pro Series of SSDs feature the same controller as the Extreme II, albeit with updated firmware, slightly higher clock speeds and new 64Gbit 19nm MLC NAND. As such, their specifications have been bumped slightly as well as seeing a huge increase in the warranty length that’s been jacked up to 10 full years! Though curiously, the drive endurance rating remains the same at 80 TBW for which they are probably counting on most consumers to upgrade well before the 10 years. They’ve also dropped the 120GB version available in the Extreme II line and now offer only 240GB, 480GB and 960GB versions. Part of this is because the 120GB versions just don’t see the same performance as the larger drives and the second part is that SSD prices have dropped enough that the 240GB drives are now in the market sweet spot. The performance piece is key as these drives are targeted to gamers, PC enthusiasts and media professionals for which most are probably looking for 240GB drives at a minimum."

Read their full review here.

 
 

Features
 

Advertising
 

Newsgroups
 

Partners
 


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:40 PM.