PC Review


New Content

Welcome to PC Review, you appear to be a new user to the site (if you are not, please log in on the right). If you wish to participate in our forums, or some of the other member features, please register as a member - this is free and takes less than a minute.

Latest Forum Posts:

WCG Stats Wednesday 23 April 2014
A gaming PC on a budget
ASUS GTX 750 Ti OC 2GB Graphics Card
I get a local failure when calling EssVZoomIn
run-time error 2147417848
 
spacer
Latest Articles
How much money can you save by building your own PC

How much money can you save by building your own PC
Manchester Meteor High Altitude Balloon

Manchester Meteor High Altitude Balloon
 


News

A gaming PC on a budget

Posted by floppybootstomp on 22nd Apr 2014 - 0 Comments

'There's no debating that a souped-up gaming PC will outperform an Xbox One or PlayStation 4 any day of the week, but it'll also cost you a lot more at checkout. However, what about a gaming PC that isn't top of the line, say, one that was built for $550?

This is the question we put to the test: could we build a gaming PC from scratch that could provide a gameplay and visual experience on par with a next-gen console, for around the same price as a next-gen console?'


Read the full article at Gamespot

My own observation on reading the article was that an AMD machine is best bang for the buck when it comes to building a gaming PC on a budget.

 

ASUS GTX 750 Ti OC 2GB Graphics Card

Posted by Becky on 22nd Apr 2014 - 0 Comments

eTeknix have had the ASUS GTX 750 Ti OC 2GB Graphics Card on their test bench - here's a snippet from their review:

Quote:
"The Nvidia GTX 750 Ti is a great graphics card but the reference design that we reviewed was lacking a little something. I am hoping that today ASUS can bring some improvements to the table with the ASUS GTX 750 Ti OC graphics card we are looking at. With this graphics card ASUS are using their “Direct CU II style design”, however, this is not actually a Direct CU II product. This is because ASUS have not chosen to use any heat pipes at all – that’s right, not heat pipes. We’re hoping that this won’t affect cooling performance too much but we’ll have to wait until the test results before that can be determined. ASUS have added a pair of their fans which they claim provide twice the airflow and a three times reduction in noise over the reference design.

ASUS have also equipped better than reference power components which they claim offer 2.5X longer lifespan and also operate at lower temperatures which should improve the efficiency of the graphics card."

Read more here.

 

be quiet! Dark Rock 3

Posted by Becky on 18th Apr 2014 - 4 Comments

Tech Power Up have reviewed the be quiet! Dark Rock 3 cooler - here's a snippet:

Quote:
"be quiet!'s legacy of quality and excellence started with their power supplies. Rather than stop there, they expanded to include fans, coolers, thermal pastes, and more. With success, however, one must continue to move forward, which be quiet! has done. Improving on their previous designs and offering best-in-class build quality, it becomes very easy to see how they won and continue to win so many rewards.

Today's review will focus on be quiet!'s Dark Rock 3, the little brother to the Dark Rock Pro 3. Featuring six 6 mm heatpipes, a 135 x 25 mm 1400 RPM PWM fan, 51 wave-contour, dark nickel-plated aluminum fins, and dripping in style, I expect it to be an exceptional performer. That said, you are not reading this review to hear me speculate, so let us get to it to see just how well be quiet!'s Dark Rock 3 performs!"

Read more here.

 

Thermaltake Tt eSPORTS Challenger Illuminated Gaming Keyboard

Posted by Becky on 17th Apr 2014 - 1 Comments

Technology X have reviewed the Thermaltake Tt eSPORTS Challenger Illuminated gaming keyboard - here's a snippet:

Quote:
"Today we are taking a look at Thermaltake’s Tt eSPORTS Challenger Illuminated gaming keyboard, which we found right off the bat to be extremely easy to type on. Thermaltake Tt eSPORTS, the gaming division of Thermaltake, has really pulled out all of the stops with the Challenger Illuminated gaming keyboard.

When looking to purchase a new keyboard, it can often be a challenge to find one that is exactly what you need. If you play various PC games, you may want a little more from your keyboard, like extra buttons, or if all you do is type, than you may need an ergonomic keyboard. So what makes a gaming keyboard better for games than your average keyboard? Mainly that gaming keyboards can add a variety of different buttons and switches that can make your life easier. Gaming keyboards also utilize more intensive switches for each key and in general the keyboard is typically composed of better quality materials, as they do go through the ringer a bit more than your average keyboard."

Continue reading here.

 

Mad Catz R.A.T. TE Gaming Mouse

Posted by Becky on 15th Apr 2014 - 4 Comments

Legit Reviews have been taking a look at the Mad Catz R.A.T. TE Gaming Mouse - it certainly doesn't win points for good looks, so is the performance worth the price?

Quote:
"Mad Catz has introduced a new mouse to their R.A.T. gaming mouse lineup that features a new suffix and with a new set of features to boot. The R.A.T. TE, labeled as a Tournament Edition gaming mouse, is designed to be the swiftest R.A.T. mouse while retaining most of the characteristics of the namesake.

The R.A.T. TE retains the same plated modular appearance as the other R.A.T. mice, but with some features that make it special in its own way. Three mouse profiles can be created in the control software called Mad Catz A.P.P. and are identified by colored LED indicator lights on the mouse. The metal base found in all other R.A.T. mice has been replaced with plastic to substantially reduce weight. An updated laser sensor is featured with superior lift-off tracking compared to other gaming mice. In addition, this is also the first R.A.T. mouse that has blue and black as the color theme. Returning R.A.T. features include one adjustable lengthwise piece, programmable mouse macro buttons, and toggleable DPI including a Precision Aim mode."

Read more here.

 

DXRacer M-Series Game Chair

Posted by Becky on 14th Apr 2014 - 6 Comments

Lan OC have taken a look at the DXRacer M-Series gaming chair - here's a snippet from their review:

Quote:
"I’ve spoken about it in a few previous reviews but it’s really important to remember that there are a few things beyond your PC itself that will really improve your gaming experience. A few of the obvious examples are your keyboard and mouse but there are others that you might not even consider. A perfect example of something that most people skimp on is their chair. The ironic thing is that your chair is used more than any other product at your desk. As someone who spends both their work and recreational time in front of a PC, a high quality chair is even more important. I have been using the same “racing” style office chair for nearly 10 years now, after being repaired multiple times the chair has seen better days. When I came across the chairs from a company called DXRacer they fit the bill perfectly. Let’s see if their M-Series Gaming Chair can keep me gaming for the next 10 years."

Read more here.

 

Gigabyte G1.Sniper A88X

Posted by Becky on 11th Apr 2014 - 2 Comments

Bjorn 3D have reviewed the Gigabyte G1.Sniper A88X motherboard - here's a snippet:

Quote:
"Gigabyte’s G1.Sniper has a long history of targeting toward gamers. The board is designed with features that gamers seek the most: better audio quality, better network performance, and better cooling for overclocking, Dating back to the first G1.Sniper, Gigabyte has released various models of the G1.Sniper series: 3, 5, and M5. What they all have in common is that they are all for Intel processors. The G1.Sniper A88X marks the first motherboard from Gigabyte that carries the G1.Sniper moniker for AMD APU. With Kaveri, AMD not only brings performance enhancement but also PCI Express 3.0 support along with other technologies such as TrueAudio, HSA, and hQ. As such, Gigabyte is betting that there are gamers who are looking to build a gaming PC without spending a lot of cash would be interested in pairing the AMD APU with their latest G1. Sniper A88X motherboard."
Read more here.

 

Plextor M6S SSD (256GB)

Posted by Becky on 10th Apr 2014 - 0 Comments

The SSD Review have had the Plextor M6S 256GB SSD on their test bench this week, here's a snippet from their review:

Quote:
"It has been a long time in the making but the new Plextor M6S family is finally rolling out. Based on Marvell SSD controllers and Toshiba NAND flash memory, we got our first glimpse at the M6e M.2 PCIe X2 SSD some months ago in our IO-Switch Raijin Review, followed by our official analysis of the 512GB capacity M6e (and some great RAID testing) a short time ago. To be completely honest, we have been just a bit spoiled by all manufacturers with respect to our M.2 SSD coverage. Things are a bit different today, however, as we introduce the Plextor M6S SSD, the newest of the Plextor M6 family and with a brand new Marvell controller."

Read their full review here.

 
 

Features
 

Advertising
 

Newsgroups
 

Partners
 


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:42 AM.