PC Review


New Content

Welcome to PC Review, you appear to be a new user to the site (if you are not, please log in on the right). If you wish to participate in our forums, or some of the other member features, please register as a member - this is free and takes less than a minute.

Latest Forum Posts:

WCG Stats Tuesday 27 January 2015
Gigabyte X99M-Gaming 5 mATX Motherboard
Dying Light
WCG Stats Monday 26 January 2015
WCG Stats Sunday 25 January 2015
 
spacer
Latest Articles
Computing at 4K

Computing at 4K
Asus Xonar DGX 5.1

Asus Xonar DGX 5.1
 


News

Gigabyte X99M-Gaming 5 mATX Motherboard

Posted by Ian on 26th Jan 2015 - 0 Comments

KitGuru review the Gigabyte X99M-Gaming 5 mATX Motherboard, a tiny but high end motherboard for gamers:

Quote:
Gigabyte‘s X99M-Gaming 5 delivers many of the X99 platform’s core features, despite its micro ATX form factor. Support for two-card SLI/CrossFire is present, and there’s also the ten SATA 6Gbps ports for storage nerds. And let’s not forget two additional forms of PCIe storage in M.2 and SATA Express.

Homing in on the gaming market, Gigabyte outfits its mATX board with a Killer NIC and the accompanying software for users to take advantage of network optimisation. There’s also the enhanced audio system that allows for an upgrade to the already-high-end Burr-Brown operational amplifier. And if you own a set of USB headphones, the ‘DAC-UP’ USB ports are designed to deliver cleaner power to the amp.

Read the review here:
http://www.kitguru.net/components/mo...rboard-review/

 

Corsair CX750 750W Power Supply

Posted by Ian on 22nd Jan 2015 - 2 Comments

HardOCP have a review of the Corsair CX750 750W Power Supply, designed as an entry-level PSU:


Quote:
Corsair is known in enthusiast circles as a supplier of high performance memory and has risen to become one of the most talked about power supply brands around. Corsair was initially able to establish a presence in such a short time through the use of quality OEM’s (Seasonic and CWT), rigorous standards, and excellent support. Since its entrance into the PSU field, it has established a number of lines of power supplies of varying quality to address (and overlap) just about every market segment. Today, we have the first unit we have seen from Corsair's CX line; the CX750 (CP-9020015-NA). This unit is once more produced in conjunction with CWT.
Read the rest here:
http://hardocp.com/article/2015/01/2..._supply_review

 

ASUS PB279Q 4K Monitor

Posted by Ian on 19th Jan 2015 - 1 Comments

KitGuru check out the ASUS PB279Q 4K Monitor, a 27" beast which can handle 4 input sources:

Quote:
The Asus PB279Q delivers a clean, crisp image and will certainly help the company cement their footing within the Ultra HD 4K market. If you are thinking of ditching that old TN panel to move into the world of IPS screens, then the benefits are easy to quantify. IPS panels are able to deliver superior viewing angles, as well as more vibrant, richly saturated colours. The Asus PB279Q excels with colour reproduction and rates quite closely to some of their Pro Art screens that I have analysed.

The onboard speakers are rather feeble, as we would expect, but in an office environment they will be welcomed. General alerts and basic speech is acceptable, although external speakers will be a prerequisite for beefy, full rounded audio output.
Read the review here:
http://www.kitguru.net/peripherals/m...onitor-review/

 

Creative Sound Blaster ZxR Sound Card

Posted by Ian on 13th Jan 2015 - 0 Comments

Legit Reviews check out the Creative Sound Blaster ZxR, the latest in this long and popular series of sounds cards:

Quote:
Creative Labs is perhaps the most well-known sound card vendor amongst PC gamers. Their Sound Blaster product family includes the longest running series of consumer sound cards out there and has been talked about by gamers for years. Typically we come across remarks that praise the high quality audio and unmatched proprietary virtual surround processing of Sound Blaster card, but hit-or-miss driver stability which fortunately we didn’t experience. Recently, we’ve gotten the opportunity to review the entire Sound Blaster Z-series, Creative’s most recent generation of desktop cards, to share if they’re right for you. This review focuses on the flagship Sound Blaster ZxR.

Read the review here:
http://www.legitreviews.com/creative...-review_155706

 

Swiftech H220-X CPU Liquid Cooling Kit

Posted by Ian on 7th Jan 2015 - 0 Comments

HardOCP have a review of the Swiftech H220-X CPU Liquid Cooling Kit, an all-in-one solution that impresses the reviewer:

Quote:
Today we are looking at a Swiftech All-In-One CPU cooler, aka AIO, from a company that has pioneered water cooling in PCs since its inception twenty years ago. We looked at our first Swiftech product about 13 years ago. Swiftech is practically a household name when it comes to water cooling circles. Generally, Switech components are preferred by most enthusiast class users but it is here today to change that perception.

The H220-X is one of Swiftech's first all-in-one kits that brings the extreme level of cooling you'd expect from Swiftech and matches it to the ease of installation we've come to expect from an AIO. There has been a lot of new competition in the AIO market in recent years from companies such as, Corsair, SilverStone, Thermaltake, and Antec. Can Swiftech make a spot for itself in a market it practically created? Let's see if the H220-X is the answer.




 

WD Red 6TB NAS Hard Drive

Posted by Ian on 5th Jan 2015 - 0 Comments

TechGage check out the Western Digital Red 6TB NAS Hard Drive, specifically aimed at consumer grade NAS units in RAID configurations:

Quote:
Both of WD’s 6TB hard drives – Green and Red – are priced at ~$265. While the Red series can work fine in a regular desktop, it’s recommended that the Green series is opted for instead, since it has error correction activated by default, whereas the Red series does not (for the sake of not getting in the way of the NAS RAID controller’s error correction). Usually, the Red series costs a bit more than Green, but we’re just not seeing that right now with the 6TB drives. What about the other densities? And for that matter, how does Seagate factor into all of this?
Read the review here:
http://techgage.com/article/wd-red-6...-drive-review/

 

ROCCAT Ryos MK Pro Mechanical Gaming Keyboard

Posted by Ian on 2nd Jan 2015 - 0 Comments

Anandtech have a new year review of the high-end ROCCAT Ryos MK Pro Mechanical Gaming Keyboard, costing around £150:

Quote:
ROCCAT is a well-known manufacturer of gaming peripherals and equipment with a notable global market presence. The company was founded in 2007 in Germany and today they also have offices in Taiwan and the US. With a strong focus of the company on gaming keyboards, mice, and headsets (with very few exceptions), ROCCAT has built a solid and widespread reputation for a company that is only seven years old.

The company has been very conservative about the products they release, trying to ensure that they are going to excel and survive in the ever-changing market for a long time, rather than just having a flashy release of a product that will be replaced/upgraded every few months. For example, over a year and a half ago we had a look at the Kone XTD and Kone Pure gaming mice, which still are among the best gaming mice ROCCAT offers today and remain excellent nearly two years after their release.
Read the rest here:
http://anandtech.com/show/8807/rocca...capsule-review

 

Tom’s Hardware’s (Impractical) 2014 Holiday Gift Guide

Posted by Ian on 22nd Dec 2014 - 0 Comments

Toms Hardware have a holiday gift guide, which is contains a mix of realistic purchases and wishful thinking, but never the less an interesting read!

Quote:
Last year we created the Tom’s Hardware gift guide. It was full of things we wanted, but mostly out of reach (although it might not escape everyone’s attention that some certain someone wrote about a quadcopter last year, and then somehow ended up with one). Many of you pointed that out, so several days ago we came out with a more practical holiday gift guide for you. It did not, however, answer our insatiable need to wish for bigger things. And so we asked our editors, once again, to give us their wish lists. Some people went a little bit...crazy.
Check it out here:
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...uide,4015.html

 
 

Features
 

Advertising
 

Newsgroups
 

Partners
 


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:24 AM.