PC Review


New Content

Welcome to PC Review, you appear to be a new user to the site (if you are not, please log in on the right). If you wish to participate in our forums, or some of the other member features, please register as a member - this is free and takes less than a minute.

Latest Forum Posts:

WCG Stats Saturday 25 October 2014
Smart Meters anyone?
My new PC if you are interested
Access Queries
WCG Stats Friday 24 October 2014
 
spacer
Latest Articles
Asus Xonar DGX 5.1

Asus Xonar DGX 5.1
How much RAM do I really need for gaming

How much RAM do I really need for gaming
 


News

SanDisk Extreme Pro 480GB

Posted by Ian on 23rd Oct 2014 - 0 Comments

eTeknix have a review of the SanDisk Extreme Pro 480GB solid state drive, which stands out with a 10 year warranty:

Quote:
The next feature worth highlighting is the nCache Pro technology. This third level of cache will help your drive perform flawlessly through all/most tasks without any stall or stutter. You can count on it every day of every week of every year, as SanDisk says. It works by taking some of the MLC NAND Flash and using it as cache in SLC mode. The SanDisk Extreme PRO drive uses the newest version of this technology, that originally made its dťbut in the Ultra Plus SSD a while ago.
Read the rest here:
http://www.eteknix.com/sandisk-extre...-drive-review/

 

Cooler Master Nepton 240M liquid cooler

Posted by Ian on 22nd Oct 2014 - 0 Comments

The Tech Report have an interesting review of the Cooler Master Nepton 240M liquid cooler - which may be of interest to overclockers:

Quote:
At first glance, it's easy to dismiss CLCs as a "seen one, seen 'em all" deal, but that would be a mistake. While the general principles remain the same from one to the next—an integrated pump and water block unit circulates coolant through a sealed radiator loop—there's still plenty of room for manufacturers to put their own spins on the concept.

Let's start with a look at the pump and water block on the Nepton. According to Cooler Master, the water block in the Nepton series features "ultra-fine micro channel" technology, which makes for an internal surface area that's four times larger than water blocks from "the competition." While I can't tear into the Nepton 240M to verify this claim, more surface area in the water block should make for better heat dissipation, so long as the ultra-fine fins don't impede coolant flow.
Rest the rest here:
http://techreport.com/review/27233/c...ooler-reviewed

 

Logitech G502 PROTEUS CORE

Posted by Ian on 20th Oct 2014 - 5 Comments

Vortez have a review of the Logitech G502 PROTEUS CORE gaming mouse, which costs around £70:

Quote:
We have no qualms in saying that G502 is an attractive looking gaming peripheral but physical appearance to the side, weíre also mightily impressed by the strong feature-set this gaming mouse comes with too.

G502 is furnished with a multitude of features for right-handed gamers. Around the thumb area there are plenty of buttons which can be customised and there are various high-quality materials used for the construction of this mouse which help with comfort and grip for extended periods of time. The only thing we werenít really keen on is the scrolling wheel which feels flimsy and is actually rather out of place with the rest of the mouse which offers up great build quality.

Read the review here:
http://www.vortez.net/articles_pages..._review,1.html

 

DDR4 3000MHz Memory Kit Round-up

Posted by Ian on 17th Oct 2014 - 0 Comments

KitGuru have a DDR4 3000MHz Memory Kit Round-up, worth a read for anyone considering making the jump to DDR4:

Quote:
With the key changes for DDR4 summarised, the next points to reference are our memory kits on show today. All four kits use a quartet of 4GB DIMMs to feed the Haswell-E CPUís quad-channel IMC with 16GB of system memory. Kingstonís HyperX Predator and G.Skillís Ripjaws 4 both feature 3000MHz CL15 XMP settings, although the latter has slight tighter secondary timings. Corsairís Vengeance LPX is actually a 2800MHz kit, although the memory does feature a somewhat disguised 3000MHz CL16 XMP configuration.

We compare each set of memory at 3000MHz to see which is the best high-speed kit for your enthusiast X99 system.
Read the rest here:
http://www.kitguru.net/components/me...kill-kingston/

 

Digital Storm Bolt II

Posted by Ian on 15th Oct 2014 - 0 Comments

Hot Hardware check out the Digital Storm Bolt II case, a mid-size case designed with gamers in mind:

Quote:
Space is limited in any mid-tower chassis, but the Bolt II is particularly slim. Given the space constraints, itís not surprising to see a mini-ITX board in the Bolt II. In this case, Digital Storm chose an Asus Z97I-Plus motherboard which provides both Gigabit LAN and 802.11a/b/g/n/ac dual band wireless connectivity. Our review unit includes 16GB of Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 1866MHz system memory and plenty of storage, thanks to a 500GB Samsung 840 EVO SSD and a 2TB Western Digital Black Edition hard drive. Thatís not a surprising setup for a gaming/entertainment PC in this category, but if isnít your style, donít fret. Digital Stormís configurator has a ton of hard drive options.
Read more here:
http://hothardware.com/Reviews/Digit...Canyon-Inside/

 

GeForce GTX 980 cards from Gigabyte and Zotac

Posted by Ian on 13th Oct 2014 - 0 Comments

Tech Report review two GeForce GTX 980 cards from Gigabyte and Zotac, which offer some improvements over the reference card from NVIDIA:

Quote:
The first GTX 980 cards to hit the market were based on Nvidia's reference design, with that familiar aluminum cooling shroud and blower. Demand for these cards is high, and supplies are tight. Now, however, a number of custom-designed GTX 980 cards are becoming available. Not only are they potentially more abundant, but they also promise various upgrades over the reference cards. Are they worthy of your attention? We've spent some time with a couple of slick offerings from Gigabyte and Zotac in order to find out.

Read the review here:
http://techreport.com/review/27176/g...zotac-reviewed

 

MSI X99S MPower Motherboard

Posted by Ian on 10th Oct 2014 - 0 Comments

Think Computers have a review of the MSI X99S MPower Motherboard, which places a lot of emphasis on style:

Quote:
MSI has distinguished themselves as having three major motherboard lines. The Classic Series which focuses on the mainstream, the Gaming Series which is geared towards gamers and the Overclocking Series which is made for overclockers and enthusiasts. We are very familiar with the Overclocking Series here at ThinkComputers as we reviewed the MSI Z97 MPower motherboard not that long ago. Today we will be looking at the X99 version of that motherboard the X99S MPower, which sits as the entry-level motherboard in MSIís X99 Overclocking Series. This motherboard features overclocking specific features like going through MSIís OC Certification process, MSIís OC Engine, voltage check points, and of course MSIís Military Class 4 components. On top of that you have great features like an Ultra M.2 slot with speeds up to 32 GB/s, DDR4 support, MSIís Audio Boost chip and so much more.
Read the rest here:
http://www.thinkcomputers.org/msi-x9...rboard-review/

 

Tesoro Lobera and Gandiva Keyboard and Mouse

Posted by Becky on 8th Oct 2014 - 0 Comments

Hardware Heaven have been taking a look at the Tesoro Lobera and Gandiva keyboard and mouse - here's a snippet:

Quote:
"Starting with the Lobera keyboard we have a product which feels solid and we like the use of different textures for the finish. The key lighting is strong, regardless of the colour and we like the presence of audio passthrough and USB ports. It would appear that this board doesnít use Cherry MX switches, like their Durandal, however the feel of the keys is decent and Tesoro do note that they are guaranteed for 50 million actuations anyway. The lighting effects are decent and it is nice to have quick access to the settings to illuminate only the key gaming areas.

Moving to the mouse we have a device which, despite its unique shape, feels nice in the hand. The use of an all plastic construction means it is light which will appeal to some gamers and the two main buttons have a decent feel to their click. That said we were not a fan of the DPI selection buttons on the edge of the left button as they are far too easy to press, it really takes no effort at all so quite easy for accidental presses. The thumb buttons require more effort though so thats fine."
Read more about it here:
http://www.hardwareheaven.com/2014/1...eview-gandiva/

 
 

Features
 

Advertising
 

Newsgroups
 

Partners
 


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:25 PM.