really thick or what?

Reaction score
Hi , can anyone tell me if it is possible to transfer video from HI 8 to computer and then to dvd. if so, what do I need, appart from dvd writer.
As you can i guess , I am completely new to this side of a computer.
Cheers
Del

Reaction score
Hi there - could you please say what a HI 8 is please? is it a Digital Camcorder?

If so then yes you can.

Assuming you are using XP and have the latest updates, Movie Maker 2 will capture your video automatically and then you can edit what you need to and add effects/text/credits etc and then you can burn it to DVD and have all the menus etc (i use Nero Vision Express 2)

chris

Reaction score
No, not a digital camcorder. it's a 6 year old c'corder that uses cassettes.
Mainly I am wanting to transfer tapes to disc and I thought that there may be something similar to systems of copying vinyl music to disc.

Last edited:
Reaction score
the only way i would know how to do it then would be to plug the camcorder leads into the

composite in on a TV Capture card and the Audio inputs on PC sound card

and capture the video from it that way and then put the captured video into movie maker, edit it, save it in the DV-AVI format then burn to DVD...

Reaction score
Don't know if 'puter has tv capture card. is this something that is standard on modern(6 month old)'puters.

the computer was not a package deal from high street, but was built to order.

Sounds a bit more complicated than I hoped for, was kinda hoping for a package that would handle it all !
anyway, thanks for help, I'll give it a try when I sort out what I've got and what I need,
cheers
Del

floppybootstomp

sugar 'n spikes
Reaction score
Yes, you can. You're going to need some hardware to plug the camcorder into and some software to capture it.

You'll need either a computer TV card with a video-in facility or a video card with VIVO (video in, video out).