Making a slide show dvd with music

Reaction score
Everyone,

I think this is the correct forum... I have a friend who has a cd filled with pictures he scanned in. He also has a cd or two of music. He wants to make a dvd slide show with music. I know this can be done, and it's probably not too hard, but I've never done it before. Can anyone walk me thru the steps? Which software should I use? I have DVD Decrypter, DVD Shrink, IMGTool, Roxio EZ CD Creator, and Movie Maker (I guess, never used it before)...

This is a one time thing, so I'd prefer not to have to buy any software (wouldn't we all!)...

Thanks in advance, any help would be greatly appreciated.

Bill

Quadophile

Hon. Acoustical Engineer
Reaction score
Any software bundled with the DVD Burner will do the job for you. Roxio and Nero both have this facility. Just follow the software instruction and you should be able to create one in few easy steps.

A DVD is not really needed for a slide show. You can burn a perfectly acceptable slide show on a CDR as well. A slide show must end otherwise the people who are watching will loose patience if the thing has to continue for hours. We all like our own pictures or picures of our own loved ones but others see it from a different viewpoint. Even pictures from National Geographic will eventually tire people after some time.

The key to a good slide show is timing and secondly the type of music you choose. Not everyone will appreciate Mozart or Mettalica at the same time. Maybe you could make a few with different type of music for different audience. The music can help make pictures either interesting or boring.

When I had to archive my sons 1st birthday video from an 8mm tape to the DVD I spent many hours trying to edit it and selecting music for it. Not a very easy job.