Crash and burn

BigJay

Kingsize Crunchie
Reaction score
Ok folks.....sort this one out for me.

Whenever I try and play Silverfall or Stalker, the game loads up to options screen, then.......crash and reboot.
I ran a graphics benchmark with PC Wizard, and that too crashed my comp.

What's going on?

I'm guessing Video Card/settings etc, but I'm no expert.
icon_cool.gif

System spec....
Mainboard : ASUSTeK Computer Inc. A8V Deluxe
Chipset : VIA K8T800 Pro
Processor : AMD Athlon 64 3500+ @ 2200 MHz
Physical Memory : 1024 MB (2 x 512 DDR-SDRAM )
Video Card : Nvidia Corp GeForce 6600 GT
Operating System : Microsoft Windows XP Professional 5.01.2600 Service Pack 2
DirectX : Version 9.0c (March 2006)

Need to know anything else?

Thanks in advance!

V_R

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
Reaction score
Any error messages?

Have you patched Stalker? might be worth tying, but you save games wont work if you have any.

BigJay

Kingsize Crunchie
Reaction score
No error message, just a black screen and reboot.
I haven't patched Stalker yet, but it does it on Silverfall as well, and when I was running a Graphics bench mark.
I haven't been able to play either game because of this, so save games aren't an issue:D

Reaction score
Get the latest NVidia drivers for your 6600GT.
*Might* also be corruption in DirectX.. a reinstall wouldn't hurt.

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score
I had a 6600GT ... same thing happened to Oblivion as you describe ... replaced it with a 7600GT, and no other changes, game plays no problem.

Mind you, I ain't got my version of Stalker yet, but I'll let you know what breaks this time. :D

BigJay

Kingsize Crunchie
Reaction score
AbsoluteKevster said:
Get the latest NVidia drivers for your 6600GT.
*Might* also be corruption in DirectX.. a reinstall wouldn't hurt.

I had the latest NVidia drivers, even tried a roll back to the previous drivers, with no succsess.
I'll give DriectX a go.

Cheers

*Update*

The reinstall of DirectX didn't sort it.