Windows XP Common Folder Shows Up On Desktop

Reaction score
WHEN I START MY COMPUTER AFTER ALL MY PROGRAMS LOAD A WINDOW CALLED COMMON SHOWS UP ON MY DESKTOP- HOW DO I STOP THIS FROM HAPPENING? MY O/S IS WINDOWS 2000 PROFESSIONAL.

Last edited:
Reaction score
more info

What Operating System are you running?
Have you played with any settings?
Have you deleted/installed anything?
When did the problem first appear?

Last edited:
Reaction score
Common Folder Etc

I HAVEN'T DONE ANYTHING SINCE I'M JUST A NOVICE AT THIS AND DON'T WANT TO CRASH MY COMPUTER. I DON'T KNOW OF ANYTHING THAT WOULD CAUSE THIS TO HAPPEN MAYBE YOU CAN EXPLAIN FURTHER WHAT COULD...

Adywebb

Growing old....
Reaction score
Can describe exactly what this window looks like please, and any text thereon...

Reaction score
It's Just A Window With The Name Of Common On The Upper Left Corner - Nothing Inside Just Blank

Adywebb

Growing old....
Reaction score
itprincezz said:
It's Just A Window With The Name Of Common On The Upper Left Corner - Nothing Inside Just Blank
Can you click on the window and close it down?

Reaction score
yes, but that is not the issue -- the issue is that the windows shows up at start up. I don't want it to do that.

Adywebb

Growing old....
Reaction score
I appreciate that - I was just trying to establish whether this may be caused by some virus/spyware/malware, as you would not usually be able to close it in those cases.

I'm afraid I'm at a loss with this one, I haven't come across it before - the only thing I can suggest is running a virus check and a few adware/spyware programs to see if you have any nasties on there.

Try a few of the free programs HERE, and see if it helps.

CITech

Offshore Crunchie Eater
Reaction score
Is it possible that a shortcut to the folder has been added to the STARTUP group in error?

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Reaction score
CITech said: