CHKDSK endless loop.....how can I stop it?

G

mother in laws machine needs help and I'm stuck. No new hardware or
software. XP Home, stuck in an endless loop of CHKDSK...it gets to 100%,
says it fixed a few things and starts all over again. It won't boot from the
cd, I can't get it to safe mode (f8 and spacebar take me to other
places....f8, then boot from hard drive takes me into the CHKDSK loop).

my first guess is that her hard drive is dead or at least the boot sector
but I'm not experienced enough to know for sure. Any guidance greatly
appreciated.

G

Can you simply cancel the chkdsk when it starts? Or close it? I saw this on a
computer before. From what I recall, I could cancel the chkdsk, and found an
..exe that was in the statup options that ran every time the computer started.
If your computer will not boot to a cd, it's probably not setup in the bios.
You will have to change this.

G

you can't cancel the chkdsk unless the cancel command has changed (it's x
right?). The boot to cd is changed in the bios......all I get is chkdsk :(

G

You should be able to access the bios before the check disk runs.
Shut your computer completely down, use the power button if you have to.
Once you turn the computer on, hit F1 or F2 or enter, all makes of computers
are different. I 've seen some where you use the delete key. You may have to
try several times until you get into the bios. Also what operating system are
you running?

G

Win XP Home. I can access the bios it just does me no good. If I set the
boot cycle to boot off the cd it just goes to chkdsk and get stuck.

Reaction score
Just fixed this one myself, PM me should anyone in the future need help with this,

1st) your need a bartPE cd google it really useful tool, this means to create one you will need a full xp install disk, don’t worry their wont be installing of xp today.