Which operating system should I choose?

G

I have Celeron 333Mhz and 128Mb RAM and not planning to upgrade my hardware. I don't play games either. The problem is that I'm a student and Windows 98, which I'm using right now, is getting a bit old... I need to upgrade my OS but I don't know which one I should choose

Will Windows XP even work on my machine? And if I get XP, I'd have to buy Microsoft Office, too. Would that be the best choice? How about Linux? I know some basics of UNIX and one chance would be Slackware 9.1. I could get that for free with free OpenOffice.org and free GIMP (better than Photoshop). I guess Slackware suits better for my hardware, too (works on 486, huh?). By the way I have a small ZipSlack on other partition right now (not enough space for full OS)

What I'm saying is that is it wise to switch to GNU/Linux 100%? Being a student and becoming an IT professional, is it wise to go with UNIX systems in the 21th century? The problem here is that I know Win98 as my own pockets and getting a new OS is a big step to take. Should I learn XP or UNIX

The other thing is that this is about our home pc and I'm the only one who can use Linux. Will this cause problems? On the other hand, if I get WinXP I also have to buy antivirus programs and all the other applications I need which are free in GNU/Linux (well, not antivirus - I haven't heard about viruses in UNIX...??). If I'll become a software developer, Linux is a must (all tools are free). The others at the school are hostile against anyone switching to UNIX OS (of course). They say Linux sucks and "you can always get an illegal copy of WinXP". None of them has actually bought Windows. I don't want to do that

Then there is FreeBSD. I've heard that it's the fastest and most stable of these three. And it's also free of charge, along with its applications. And I could be installing it from MS DOS within 10 minutes after this