VLookup to determine data between location of cells

Reaction score
I have searched and searched threads and can't seem to find what I am looking for. The problem may be that I am an amateur and cannot convert what others have done in to what I am trying to do.

The data is a copy of CSV file in to a spreadsheet. Below is what the paste looks like:

100100 Books
1234.ab
1345.bf
100100 Books
100200 Magazines
100300 Videos
1234.ab
1345.bf
100300 Videos

All of the numbers between the 100100 Books, 100300 Videos belongs to that category. This repeats hundreds of rows down. I need the column to the left of this range to display which division it under. I parse this in excel so Books, Videos, Magazines will be in their own column. I am not exporting the CSV so have to manipulate it in excel. I need to have the column to the left combine the whole identifier so I can perform a VLOOKUP on it. It should look as follows:

100100.1234.ab
100100.1345.bf
etc.

My approach was to get the column to the left of the range to display the correct division, then have another column combine by using (cell)&"."&(cell).

I apologize if this has been addressed. I am trying to learn VB for excel, if I could get some help I would be forever grateful and will return the favor when I have a clue of what I'm doing. Thanks!!

Reaction score
cstoreguru,

Is the data in a single column? Are the values 100100 Books, 1234.ab, ect in single cells? Is the data imported- you said it is a CSV?

I am not grasping your data structure, can you please explain what is in columns and rows, and how you are going to use the vlookup? Are you parsing within the same spreadsheet or another workbook? Are you intending to build VB scripts to automate this for repeated actions?

Stoneboysteve

Reaction score
Stoneboysteve,
Thank you so much for your inquiry. I am sorry that I was unclear.