very confused...


Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Does DDR2 Ram run on DFI Lanparty Motherboards (Ultra-D or SLi-D)? It says DDR, SDRAM, but does that mean DDR only? or DDR2 as well? :s

Also i'm getting .. OCZ 1GB (2 x 512MB) PC5300 Dual Channel Gold GX XTC Series EL-DDR2 (OCZ26671024ELGEGXT-K) (MY-063-OC) [size=-1]
[/size]
[size=-1]is the spec's good on this for a DDR2? .. [/size]
[size=-1]- 667MHz DDR2
- CL 4-4-4-12 (CAS-TRCD-TRP-TRAS)
- Unbuffered
- Gold Layered XTC Heatspreader*
- Lifetime Warranty
- 1.9 Volts
- 240 Pin DIMM
- EVP®**
[/size]

[size=-1]Good for £90 incl. VAT?
[/size]
 
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
May 18, 2004
Messages
6,727
Reaction score
93
the type of RAM needed is determined by the CPU - if its AMD then you can't use DDR2.

DDR SDRAM to me sounds like regular DDR PC3200 RAM
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
Really? Ah damn! Can't i configure it in any way without screwing my system? I was rly looking forward to that bargain too :\
 
Joined
May 18, 2004
Messages
6,727
Reaction score
93
it wouldnt even fit the motherboard - its a completely different type of RAM!

Its not even faster, DDR has lower latency than DDR2.
 

Covenant

Proud Cruncher
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
215
Reaction score
0
And it works on a different voltage. According to the DFI page. the Lanparty is DDR400. Good board though.


Covenant
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
ok, well i had to ask in-case ;) so OCZ Gold is better than OCZ Platinum for Gaming right? and i'm also looking at Ultra-X PSU's their non-clutter cable system, nice finish looks and the prices r highly attractable but is there any negative feedback i should hear? as with most PSU's specs they never mention the actual noise levels in decibells which can get a tad annoying after so long...
 
Ad

Advertisements

Covenant

Proud Cruncher
Joined
Jan 22, 2006
Messages
215
Reaction score
0
The Gold series does have lower latencies than the Platinum, but how much difference in real time remains to be seen (I mean - whats a millisecond between friends). OCZ is generally regarded as very good memory especially for o/clocking.
I looked at the UltraX's recently and they seem like decent quality psu especially for the price, but I don't think they had dual 12v+ rails - please feel to correct me if I'm wrong.

Covenant
 
Joined
May 18, 2004
Messages
6,727
Reaction score
93
Atm, the Hiper TypeR 580w (630 peak) Modular is the PSU to get, for around £60 all in...

OCZ is very good very stable memory - i have half a gig myself :)
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2006
Messages
11
Reaction score
0
ok since i was running 50p over my overall budget (bank balance) i had to cut down on the UV version! OMG 50p!!! lol -_- (I'm not wandering down to the bank to put 50p in if thats what ur thinking) since i have windows xp already for my previous computer do i need to buy the OEM version again? or can i reuse it without getting prosectued? or is that only for windows xp retail version?
 

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
25,572
Reaction score
1,064
saku said:
ok since i have windows xp already for my previous computer do i need to buy the OEM version again? or can i reuse it without getting prosectued? or is that only for windows xp retail version?
You can only install XP on one PC ... if you have two PCs you need two XPs ... there is no differnce in OEM & Retail CDs (Linux is free)

However, there is nothing wrong with "moving" XP from one PC to another, as long as you delete the old one ... you will have to phone MS for a new key.

;)
 
Ad

Advertisements

muckshifter

I'm not weird, I'm a limited edition.
Moderator
Joined
Mar 5, 2002
Messages
25,572
Reaction score
1,064
PotGuy said:
how do you delete an os? format?
These days you put the CD in and boot off it ... it will give you the option to delete the partition and format ... then stop.

... or you could use FDISK , UBD and even Linux. :D
 

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Similar Threads

Very confusing internet problem??? help! 1
confused 1
Pentium confusion 1
Little Confused! 16
surge protectors confusion 3
Hard drive confusion. 3
AMD 64 Confusion?? 4
Form Factor Confusion 7

Top